We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem!”

Conch Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #274 of 2,259 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, New Zealand, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Conch Kitchen & Bar features wood-fired dishes with a South American flavour. The updated menu can be viewed online.The restaurant is now fully licensed with a drinks list including craft beers and organic wines.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have walked past this place a thousand times and didn't even realise it was a restaurant - my partner read a review in the newspaper so we decided to try it out today for lunch, it was a fantastic choice!

We had the tacos, beef ribs and ceviche to share, everything was fantastic - couldn't fault anything.

Good service, good food, great value and cool outdoor venue - can't wait to return for breakfast (the menu looks amazing!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ealingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chilean food in Auckland”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went there to watch some World Cup football action. Not surprising the atmosphere with the number of the staff being from South America.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 712suzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I headed into Ponsonby for a lunch and afternoon mooch around. First stop was this little place with its in store record shop and backyard dining area, full of rustic wooden booths and quaint courtyard feel. Service was prompt, casual and friendly and the menu had about 10-12 different items ranging from 16-22 NZD. Was gonna go for the spiced pork ribs, but instead went for the chicken and herb salad. The wife had pulled pork tacos. Both were superbly fresh, fragrant and ultimately delicious. Full range of drinks on offer, and desserts available too. Have to say, it really did set us up for a great afternoon just wondering around the fantastic suburb of Ponsonby. Don't miss out, and make sure you go check this place out!

Helpful?
Thank JoeyHossain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something special...”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Conch Backyard Cafe is our regular weekend brunch venue. I am so boring but just keep having the same old, same old. Perfectly poached eggs served with home made guacamole (always just slightly different to keep it interesting) and home made organic foccacia lightly grilled and sprinkled with organic local olive oil. We always ask for some of Sabastian's special tomato salsa on the side. Such a great atmosphere, the music, the smokey aroma of the large wood fired oven and the people. Getting very excited as I hear the cafe us soon to have a liquor licence and will open in the evenings. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great eatery, cozy and kitcsh!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Came for lunch on a friday, had AMAZING lamb tacos! Backyard loks great with cute as a button booths with plenty of sun. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conch Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to Conch Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing