We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #68 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have chosen to present some of the more characteristic, yet legendary dishes from North India, especially the Punjab. Our preparation makes our food beautiful to behold and addictive to the palate.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This meal was potentially the worst curry I've had.

I've from Indian restaurants probably 200-300 times, and these guys sell overpriced junk.

Curry and rice was so watery my plate was left looking like a swimming pool.

Chicken was cut into long strips to avoid showing the horrendous cuts they were using.

Madras didn't taste anything remotely like it should. The portion was tiny, and not worth what is probably the most expensive Indian takeaway in the city.

Overall, waste of money, bad meal, would have been better off having some curry powder in a glass of water

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    96
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“True Indian food and good service ...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My first time in Auckland and I needed to find a curry house. I found Little India on tripadvisor and was not disappointed.

A good traditional menu with excellent food. Well cooked and served, full of flavour!

If you like traditional Indian food then give this a try.

The restaurant is just off the beaten track and shares an entrance with the hotel next door ... but don't be put off the food is worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal - excellent service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You know you are going to have a good meal at Great India, and it is good value. Waiting staff very attentive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wellington67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ok food”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We love indian food and while I really enjoyed my lamb dish and found the pieces of meat melt in the mouth, my partner found his butter chicken quite tasteless so was not impressed, service just ok, no one asked how our meals were or if we wanted any more drinks, and it was not like the place was packed so overall just average

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I made multiple trips here this trip. Place is clean and has a decent feel. Food is good and the price isn't so bad for New Zealand, lamb rogan josh is $20.

Would recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing