We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definitely Worh Staying Here”
other travellers have booked this property
McGrigors Ponsonby Apartment street view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
McGrigors Ponsonby Apartment street view
Outdoor patio seating Tranquil garden, private and secure
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
McGrigors Ponsonby Apartment street view
Outdoor patio seating
Tranquil garden, private and secure
Fully equipped modern kitchen with fridge, microwave, gas/electric stove, dishwasher and  TV
Comfortable dining area and breakfast bar
Great indoor/outdoor flow from apartment to the courtyard and deck
Great open living area to relax in
Lounge living area
Master bedroom with french doors opening to the private garden
Style, comfort and elegance.
Bedroom 2 bedrooms with delightful garden views
Designer bath and quality furnishings
Large tiled bathroom
Spacious glass shower and  vanity
Fully equipped guest laundry with washing machine, dryer and tub
Keypad guest's street entry
Peaceful garden courtyard
Relaxing garden surrounds
Only 15 minutes to the restaurants at Wynyard Quarter's vibrant harbour side dining.
Nearby Ponsonby Central with Cafes Shops and Fresh Produce
Iconic old Ponsonby Post Office now an upmarket restaurant
Chapel Bar and Restaurant - one of Ponsonby's most popular spots
Cafe One Two One near the Top of Douglas Street for Great Local and International Acts
Zambesi  - 5 minutes from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Auckland Central, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lawrencej...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely Worh Staying Here”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

McGrigors is located in the most convenient part of Auckland, a city I know well. The unit is extremely clean, airy and bright and well appointed.

Our only concerns were intermittent problems with WIFI reception and availability of close-by on-street parking for the rental car.

Crucially, Brian McGrigor, the proprietor, is very attentive and immediately responsive to any concerns. He is in the process of trying to rectify periodic problems with the WIFI reception.

We would certainly recommend staying there and will probably do so on our next visit to Auckland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of Property and Owner's Quick Responsiveness to Our Needs
Liked least: Variable WIFI access and speed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
I am happy to say that a new dedicated router solved the periodic wifi issue. Our guests are assured it is 'always on' wifi now, with unlimited data.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack1280
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was a true comfortable and clean home away from home - outstanding!”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have been home from our February vacation for a month now and wanted to make sure I wrote a review for Clare and Brian. I don't normally take the time to write reviews but felt compelled to do so this time because of the wonderful experience we had renting the McGrigor's property. Brian and Clare manage a really, really nice property within (a rigorous) walking distance to the city, but off the main drag and shops in a quiet neighborhood in Ponsonby. The property is impeccably clean and well maintained. Clare was a perfect hostess and very kind. Clare checked in on us occasionally to make sure we were doing well but also left us with a perfect balance of privacy and comfortability. It was the nicest place we stayed while touring the North Island over a two week period. I traveled with my wife and our adult son, so the two bedroom arrangement was perfect for us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
It was a great pleasure to meet the Herrmann family, Kerry, Jack and Matt when they stayed at our apartment in Auckland recently. They are a lovely family and perfect guests and we would be delighted to see them back in New Zealand some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very clean, comfortable & close to shops and resturants.
A nice bowl of fruit was a nice touch, Ponsonby is close to downtown Auckland.
Wifi reception could be improved.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Graig was a a pleaseure to have staying at the apartment and is highly reccommended to other hosts.
We now have a dedicated fibre router in the apartment which now provides high speed, reliable broadband for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LachWA
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation Spot in Ponsonby, Auckland.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I recently stayed for three evenings at McGrigors in Ponsonby. This was my initial stop on a three week tour of New Zealand. I have to stay that my stay here was fantastic, Brian really made an effort to provide as much assistance as I required. Brian responded to my enquiries promptly prior to my arrival and was more than happy to greet me early in the morning following my arrival from the airport. Complimentary milk, fruit and chocolate was provided for me upon my arrival. Additionally I had the use of a washing machine and dryer which is always handy when travelling.

I felt like I had my own holiday home for the three evenings I stayed in Ponsonby. The location is approximately a 5 minute walk to Ponsonby Rd, where a plethora of cafes, restaurants, bars and shopping facilities can be found. You can also catch a bus into central Auckland city in approximately 15mins. I would like to aim to stay at McGrigors again should I be fortunate enough to be holidaying again in the near future in Auckland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendliness and professionalism of the hosts.
Liked least: Some limited wifi access in parts of the house.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
It was a pleasure to host Lachlan at McGrigors Apartment in Ponsonby.
Lachlan was a considerate and friendly guest and we would warmly welcome him back should he wish to stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherryl15...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Excellent apartment if you're staying in Auckland and don't want to spend the whole time in a hotel. Gives you the opportunity to experience life in an Auckland suburb. The property is on a hill and access to the apartment is on a very steep drive. If you're not completely mobile talk to the owner before you book.

Ponsonby is an inner city suburb, with pleasantly wide stress and a quiet neighbourhood. A quick bus trip gets you into the centre of the city in about 10 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants and coffee bars in Ponsonby for casual meals and restful evenings and the owner has loads of recommendations for you.

This apartment gives you the chance to eat in as well, if you wish. It's very comfortable, great sofas and good beds. There's even access to a laundry. There's free wifi although it's not a very strong signal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Totally comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys England
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation, beautiful furniture, bedding and bathroom
Liked least: The kitchen would benefit from some extra crockery, cutlery and glassware.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RikkiSamm...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable & great location”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 2 nights & would have been happier to stay longer. Brian was very welcoming, including a bowl of fruit, & the beds are so comfortable. A short walk to Ponsonby Rd with plenty of good restaurants & great fashion shopping. We had dinner at 'Moo Chow Chow' the first night and would recommend it highly. Also enjoyed our meal at Ponsonby Bistro & a pizza place at Ponsonby Central. Brian will also point you in the right direction to get a good coffee!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing