We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Different - in a good way!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Char Grill

Char Grill
Ranked #275 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something Different - in a good way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I am a sucker for kebabs and seeing the word 'Char Grill' on the window got me straight away. Unfortunately I had recently eaten a lot of junk food and was craving something a bit healthier (which is pretty hard at almost 10pm at night). My husband and I both shared in their kebab salads/ rice kebab salads which had both flavour and that healthy/ sort of factor. The staff were friendly, helpful and the restaurant had a lovely vibe which we would have dined in...but after a 6 hour drive i needed the comfort of a soft bed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is in the Auckland area but after something quick and easy to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouieBlue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were staying at Waldord Celestioin Apartments and had walked by this little restaurant numerous times on our way into CBD. We found Auckland to be very expensive to eat out. We had been out all day and were looking for something to eat at a reasonable price so we headed once again from our hotel to the CBD. It was late and once again came to this little restaurant advertising out front this great deal of a meal with a drink for $10. What a great surprise. I had fish,chips & salad with glass of wine and my husband had a fishermans basket with a CORONA beer, FOR JUST $10 EACH!!!. Being late it was very quiet, a gentleman was at the pizza counter and a woman at bar. The meal was huge and absolutely delicious. What a find, shame it was our last night in Auckland!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deale, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise beneath the Sky Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Food in New Zealand is expensive for Americans. We were always looking for a deal. During on first day in Auckland, we stumbled upon this small eatery just catty corner from the Sky Tower. It is small and unpretentious, but the food was incredible. My husband ordered a hamburger, which turned out to be one of the largest and best he had ever had. My son and I stayed with the mediterrean grill plates, which were wonderful. We came back twice more before leaving Auckland! Great value, great food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the amazing food and service I received at Char Grill. As a visitor to Auckland from Brisbane, I was on a look out for a great place to eat. Char Grill is conveniently located and presents a great menu at an affordable price. It was so good that I took my family there 3 times.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Char Grill we went too was located at 111 Victoria Street. Had the Chicken Camebert Cranberry Pizza. They did not scrimp on the ingredients. If you like a great fire grill pizza this is the place. Noticed other dishes being delivered to patrons, they all were large portions, smelled and looked good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Grill also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Char Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing