We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bai”
Review of Char Grill

Char Grill
Ranked #222 of 2,256 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bai”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

a very nice restaurant , great new zealand steaks of a good size , service we liked to much , nice staff , deliciuos , reccomended .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bai l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not bad for a breakfast”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Last week we went there (Victoria / Hobson st) after a football match to have some breakfast. Food quality is good (specially the Pizza was great).
We had a combo meal with coffee which was tasty. I liked it.
Toilets were not really clean, expected more.
They have Shisha which is a positive point for those who love to enjoy it in Auckland.
There's a dedicated car park behind the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had an all day breakfast at 8pm after checking into Jucy Hotel. Just a short walk away we found this terrific restaurant and all enjoyed our meals so much that we ended up there again for lunch next day. Great food, great staff and great location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Awesome surroundings for a 'no care' meal option, owner was great entertainment, had the ostrich burger, little bit too much garlic sauce but the ostrich did taste great. Went back for pizza's, another fantastic option!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something Different - in a good way!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I am a sucker for kebabs and seeing the word 'Char Grill' on the window got me straight away. Unfortunately I had recently eaten a lot of junk food and was craving something a bit healthier (which is pretty hard at almost 10pm at night). My husband and I both shared in their kebab salads/ rice kebab salads which had both flavour and that healthy/ sort of factor. The staff were friendly, helpful and the restaurant had a lovely vibe which we would have dined in...but after a 6 hour drive i needed the comfort of a soft bed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is in the Auckland area but after something quick and easy to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouieBlue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Char Grill also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Char Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing