We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little spot”
Review of The Shelf

The Shelf
Ranked #123 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cute little spot”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very cute cafe, great decor and I love the cold drip coffee idea (although it is pricey). Bit disappointed that there was so little for us gluten-intolerants though, and the amount of food for money was also disappointing (but typical of NZ)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awful_in_aqua86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“The Shelf”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Blueberry cheesecake and the herbal teas are a must. The presentation of all the food is top. The design of this place is so original: Black tiled walls, eco friendly raw wood shelving, wooden plates and delicate glass teapots and carafes. Free WIFI is a bonus. Service is great. The Shelf has a great combination of a fresh, clean and modern cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahipara, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quirky and Cute but oh so professional.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Found this on a whim, it looked interesting to say the least and it is, full of quirky little touches. the coffee guy is an artist, there is no other way to describe his coffee. I love coffee, not in a fanantical way but he certainly does!! The best I have ever seen and worth a visit just to sit and watch him make the most exceptional coffee and hot chocolates.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandSafarisTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate on a cold Auckland day!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was a somewhat cold, rainy day in Auckland and we were looking for a quick bite before going shopping. We chanced upon this cosy little place in High Street in the CBD. The cabinet food looked good and the idea of hot chocolate was enticing.

We selected our food, a filled pide and a beef pastrami and ordered drinks.
The food was good, but the hot chocolate was even better! It arrived as a glass of hot milk into which had been placed a stick of chocolate. There was also a small jug of liquid chocolate to add.
Delicious!

We have been back since then and this time we each had a hot chocolate.
Definitely worth investigating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank platypus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shelf also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Shelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing