We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Live Music - Fabulous Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orleans

Orleans
Ranked #142 of 2,232 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Live Music - Fabulous Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We dined here as a group of 6, thoroughly enjoyed the live music which started at 8pm. It was extremely busy for a wet Friday night. Lots of plates to share, interesting food, Gumbo was excellent, small portions so you need to order quite alot. Not a huge menu but all the food we tried was very good (we tried quite a large portion of the menu too).

The butterscotch dessert was outstanding!!! Order your own one of these - DON'T SHARE!!

Staff were very attentive and friendly. $$ wise it worked out approx. $50 per person for drinks and yummy food.

Highly recommend especially if you enjoy live music.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funfoodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    93
    20
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a light dinner here when travelling solo. Staff were really friendly, excellent service. Ambiance was great - quirky and different but cosy and inviting. The menu was unlike anything i have come across before but designed with lots of small things to nibble or share as well as bigger dishes. Food was tasty and the bar seemed capable of any request. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Transported back to the South”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Went to celebrate 4th July and thoroughly enjoyed the exciting atmosphere of Orleans. Was seated quickly and food was out fast. Great prices and delicious sides. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a night out with live music and amazing drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for Food, down for Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food here was great and prices totally reasonable, we sat outside and shared the pulled pork po boy (yum), Jumbo Prawns (yum), slaw (yum) and flank steak (super yum!). It was busy and there was a good atmosphere in the outside and inside dining areas. Although none of the cocktails were to my liking the wine list made it easy to choose a drink.

The only thing that let the place down was the indifferent and often rude service. There was a 'hostess' stood at the door who seemed to just scowl at people, young waitresses milling about looking busy and ignoring tables piled high with empty glasses/plates, the girl behind the Little Sazerac Bar actually directed my partner away from her bar and into a different bar altogether because she was 'busy making a jug'.

I get that it's casual and hip and that is such a big part of the appeal but there's no excuse for rudeness or turning customers away....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Felt like the place to be, and food matched the atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Orleans is a new bar in an established premium spot at Britomart. I was there with workmates for drinks and dinner on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was just humming. Lots of space, long and narrow layout. Food was southern US style (not surprisingly) and a real treat. Tapas style, with some of the Big Bowls options suitable for individuals. Po Boys are basically Louisiana-style stuffed long rolls with moist fillings, and hugely popular. I had the seafood gumbo which was filling and full of seafood although not quite as tasty as I'd expected. The soft shell crab was a new experience for me.

The table shared several of the small bowls and side bowls, including the curly fries with dipping sauce (excellent), andouille jambalaya balls, Orleans fried chicken, corn chips with artichoke and pimento cheese dip (not enough chips with it by far) and some of the salads.

Suggestion would be to each order a Po Boy or a large bowl for yourself, and share some of the small bowls. I have heard the Chicken Waffle is amazing but we didn't try it this time.

Drinks - only a couple of tap beers which didn't seem appropriate at all - Tiger and a house beer - but there are some genuine American bottled beers like Coronado, and Blue Moon Belgian White which was properly garnished with the trademark orange slice. Lots of rye whiskeys etc.

Atmosphere was awesome. It felt like the place to be. Perhaps best for a group of workmates or friends rather than a romantic couples dinner. Loved it, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coralkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orleans also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing