We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stopover but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 20 April 2011

In comparison with other Nomads Hostels I have stayed in this did not live up to the same usually consistent standards. Rooms were cramped and stuffy, carpets and bed linen were grubby. The general décor throughout looked tired and in need of a general overhaul.

The small (for a hostel of this size) top floor kitchen struggled to cope with the dinnertime peak time. However, the roof terrace provides good views out over the City and harbour.

Staff on reception often did not seem to be particularly helpful, and in some cases appeared clueless and not adequately trained.

On the plus side, the hostel has a really awesome bar attached (Fort Street Union) with deals for guests and has regular pool competitions organised by the hostel’s “Fun Guy” (by far the most enthusiastic member of staff) which are a great way of meeting people.

This hostel is fine for a stopover whilst traveling in or out of Auckland, but I would not recommend it for longer stays.

Room Tip: Only stay one or two nights
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laytrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

It was worth the money that we spent on the beds, but nothing amazing.
Cheap bed, basic facilities. Cant ask for anymore.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Awesome place and great price. Definitely will stay here again. The kitchen and amenities are all in a good spot and the attached bar is great.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorfultes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Double room is tiny with 4ft bed and uncomfortable mattress. Two rooms shown to me both with lights or bathroom fan not working. Towel supplied was shredded in part. Internet signal good on ground and first floor. Advertising says free dinner but this is not up to date - does not include fre dinner. Rooms are clean though. Good facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny_1_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We only stayed one night and had picked this one because it was so close to rail station. The bar was closed for remodeling. It is clearly a backpacker's hostel. We had stayed at Downtown Backpackers in Wellington for the same price so we expected about the same quality (wrong!). Young people had long discussions in hallways which you heard through your door while trying to sleep. Next time we'll look a little further from railway for something nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandDMarquezTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

less friendly than fat camel but nicer .... get Global Gossip internet where as fat camel is some other provider ;

also this branch have sun deck , spa & sauna :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castimyzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 12 bed cheapest dorm.

The dorm was very crowded, but it was cheap as chips so you cant really grumble! The people were friendly and the toilet/bathroom facilities catered for the amount of people comfortably.

Reception were a little slow, but i guess this is not a major problem!

Free internet for 15 minutes at reception is a great little extra!

Nothing really great that is different from anywhere else to talk about really......you will have a bed, shower and the basics!!!

Enjoy if you decide to stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Central
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 130 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#65 of 130 in Auckland Central
867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 130 in Auckland Central
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#56 of 130 in Auckland Central
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#32 of 130 in Auckland Central
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland Harbour Oaks
Auckland Harbour Oaks
#187 of 292 in Auckland
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £16 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing