We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect - even for oldsters!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #65 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
“Perfect - even for oldsters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband's 69 & I'm 64. We're from California, don't travel a lot & it seemed crazy to book an overnight in a youth hostel in Auckland. But the price was unbeatable, it's right downtown & it was great! Admittedly, we didn't hang around using the pool or the spa or watching TV: we wanted to see Auckland, not a hotel. Front desk kids were super friendly & helpful. Our 6th floor private room (ensuite - with bath) was surely not luxurious, but was clean & quiet & had windows that opened. Fresh air. What a treat! We could walk easily to all the downtown sites: Viaduct Harbor, High Street, Sky Tower, Albert Park, Britomart (the train station), etc. Nomads definitely added to our NZ adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentFlyer447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you so much for your feedback! We are very stoked to hear that you had such a great time with us and we hope you had an amazing time traveling! All the best for the future and we hope to see you again one day!
Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    103
    143
    88
    94
See reviews for
12
96
197
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are really small, when it's full you don't have enough place for open your baggage!!
You have some lockers under your bed so it's cool for some objects but it's take all the place and you can't hide your baggage under your bed, it's too bad.. after you have a room full of baggage everywhere and almost impossible to walk!

The Kitchen close at 10:30, so you have to eat before and if you work late, you can't eat after.

We can't drink inside this Hostel because there is a bar in the 1rt floor, and no common area for hanging out during the night... so if you want to make some new friends, it's during the day in the kitchen or in the living room but it's seems empty.

The Best thing it's the kitchen actually.. big and beautiful view..

I never saw people going in the jacuzzi, don't know if it's working!

The cleaners make a lot of nose during the morning (talking loud in your room) so you can't finish to sleep.. (if you were lucky that no check out woke you up before)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXsansDrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and agree our room vary in size but we always make sure there are lockable draws underneath the bed for important belongings to be locked away securely. Unfortunately we don't have a license to allow drinking but the bar on Level 1 offers special rates for backpackers and we hope you were able to make use of them?!
Our common room on Level 1 is open 24hrs to mingle and meet new people, watch TV or use the Internet. We also offer free 30mins daily WiFi in our travel shop as well as daily free guided walking tours where you get to see the best sights of town as well as to meet people! The Free Spa and Sauna are both working too!We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to see you again in the future!
Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nomads Auckland Rocks....Great Location close walk to everything you could possibly need when staying in Auckland City. I could see the harbour from my room which is always a bonus.There is a roof top Kitchen and spa with a nice and friendly atmosphere. Staff were very accommodating especially considering I arrived at 3am I was still greeted with a big smile this is a massive tick after a long overseas Flight. Big Thumbs up to you guys I'll be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future :)

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Location- Location- Location !
The best thing about Nomads Auckland ( and many more ) I have found is they have the knack to find a spot pretty central to all that you need- Buses, Trains and Taxi Ranks just around the corner !
Apart from location I found my private room to be extremely comfortable, with TV and an awesome shower ( very rarely in a hostel do you have to turn the power down !) and a proper mattress that didn't sag !
Friendly staff ( from all over the planet !) made the check in quick and easy and had great knowledge of what to do in not only Auckland but the whole of NZ - downstairs has a cool chilled out travel shop ( Mad Travel ) that sorted out most of my trip for me ! Didn't use the kitchen as Fort St Union bar next door had great food ( and of course beer!) at pretty sweet prices for the CBD- so can't comment ! Thumbs up Nomads Auckland - I`ll be seeing you again !

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for some privacy and TV and being on the top floor a little quieter too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliCarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your feedback!
We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed in this hostel two different times over multiple floors. Hostel is very nice and clean; everything you should be looking for in a hostel. If you have a Telecom mobile sim you can get signal strength for their WiFi in the lounge area on the first floor. You may need some ear plugs (available at reception) for the music you can hear at the nearby bars during the night, but that's mostly just on Friday and Saturday nights. Overall a great hostel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smurdockii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and also made use of our free ear plugs :) We hope you also used our free Spa and Sauna and joined our free daily guided walking tours?
We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The kitchen was among the worst kitchens we have ever seen in a hostel. It was too small for that many people and you could only sit outside and eat when the weather was good. Though, the outside veranda was nice and had a pretty good view. A lot was broken, like the saucepans and the frying pans and there were almost nothing to dish with, which made it a bit untidy and dirty. Because of this you had to wait in line for things to get available because you couldn't use all the pans or the stoves for that matter.
The first night was OK, but the second night we had to switch room and ended up near the bar and the music. Sure, music is nice, but not when you are trying to sleep late in the evening. If you think you would be disturbed by this, I recommend you to ask for a room further from the bar.
You can store your luggage next door and inside there are computers that you can use for free for half an hour or so.
The computer room and TV-area was spacious and comfy. There were plenty of toilets and showers. Also, the location is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you arrived at a time when our kitchen wasn't stocked up the way it should be. Even though you are gone now we like to let you know that we have re-stocked all dishes and cutlery which a monthly excercise we have to do due to travelers leaving with them. We hope you were able to make use of our free ear plugs from reception during your stay in the dorm near the bar? We are surrounded by Bars and night clubs that add to the noise level a backpackers give. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and made use of all our free facilities.
Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Paid 260 each for first week in NZ in a double ensuite, no window, bathroom was rough and TV didn't work, kitchen was pretty "trashed" utensils and pans were WELL-used, but staff was friendly and the fort st union bar connected to it was awesome. Expensive when you're not allowed alcohol IN your room. The dorms were much better though

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are afraid to hear that you didn't find your stay with us as comfortable as expected! Our private rooms vary in size and our few no window rooms don't have air conditioning unfortunately. Can you please let us know in which room you stayed in so we can get the TV going again? Our kitchen gets used a lot and we have to re-stock our dishes and cutlery every month due to travelers taking them with them when leaving in cars/campers. We are trying our best to keep them stocked up at all times. We don't have a license to allow drinking in the hostel that's the reason it's not allowed but we are glad you enjoyed Fort Street Union bar!
Enjoy your travels and we hope to see you again soon,
Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#49 of 106 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 106 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 106 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Property: Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing