We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown on Cintra Lane
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Very bad apartment so far. They should not get the Quest ratings and 4 star qualmark as it is more like a 1star accomodation.

1st: the check in was very weird. They told us to call the phone to speak with an operator to do the cheking in details. She even asked for credit card details through the phone- very dodgy!

2nd: Oven not working, kitchen fan not working, water kettle not clean.

3rd: Remote control not working.

4th: Couch was ripping off.

5th: Shower door had a massive gap, the tiles became slippery due to tht.

6th: the windows of the balcony was not clean.


PLEASE FIND OTHER ACCOMODATION IN AUCKLAND!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieronaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    35
    22
    7
See reviews for
19
23
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

This place is the absolute PITS!!!
I booked thru Travelbug and months in advance ... then suddenly (about the time U2 announced their Auckland tour dates) I get an email from Travelbug asking me if Id changed my date with the hotel.
I hadnt so contacted the hotel. They told me the Penthouse was not available. I contacted Travelbug who sorted it out with them (no doubt they were just trying to cash in on a preminum price for a concert go-er as the cheaper hotels filled up and they could charge higher prices whilst U2 were in town)
I had specifically booked what I thought was a preminum room as it was for a special occassion that we were coming to Auckland.
The room was hideous!!!! Absolutely nothing like the picture they showed on the website. In fact I would be surprised if that rooms was even located in that particular hotel.
The "penthouse" was a very tired and tatty room, poorly designed layout. There was not even enough space in the bedroom to put a suitcase, we had to keep our bags in the lounge. The shower door was so broken that my partner actually became trapped in the shower and I was almost having to call reception to ask for help. The nozzle also fell off in my hand when I touched it.
The over was not working and when I called reception was told that they dont know how to work it and there was nobody there who could come and sort it out.
The dining table still had crumbs and a LETTUCE leaf stuck to it when we checked in.
The whole place was just MANKY and we spent as little time in the room as possible.
I actually do not believe that we were even in a Penthouse room, there were several more floors above us with larger looking balconys, which in my opinion looked more like they would be the real "penthouse" rooms.
For the cost and poor service there were much better hotels to stay at in a better location.
Like I said earlier, it was a special occasion and the photos of the place certainly do not reflect the actual property. There is no way you could pay me to stay there again, just the worst place Ive stayed in for several years

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Good location, stayed in a studio apt, which was fine, had everything I needed and the small balcony was a plus. There were a few blown lightbulbs but otherwise it was clean enough and resonably maintained. Nothing remarkable about the property but paid very little so am quite content. A tip for booking on "wotif" - if you require carparking, you'll need to call the property to book it. The listing on wotif was misleading, informed of parking charges, but not that they needed to be pre-booked - no facility to do this on the site

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MammaMia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The staff were great to deal with in advance of my arrival and they were friendly each time I encountered them during my stay.
I appreciated the daily servicing and the toiletries were of a higher standard that you tend to see these days. Strange though how the shampoo, body lotion and shower caps were replaced daily but the soaps were not. By check-out I was down to a 2 mm wafer!
They supplied washing powder so I could do laundry in the washer in the bathroom. Unfortunately the previous occupant's underwear was still in it.
Had to shut the bathroom door and turn off the fridge to sleep as the plumbing and electrics were noisy The TV was ancient and had poor reception and only limited Sky channels - we domestic travellers always appreciate UK TV.
Not sure what sort of area this is - some of my fellow guests looked somewhat dodgy - but it was within walking distance to Queen St and several Asian eateries.
Not sure I'd return - it would depend on what other choices were available at the same rate at the time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey2010x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ - Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Checked into a 1 bedroom penthouse. The room had a lovely view of the harbour but was cramped and tired looking. The bedroom was appaling, couldn't even walk around the bed without turning to the side, certainly not a penthouse. Requested a sofa bed prior for our 3rd guest, not there. Spoke to Duty Manager and said disappointed with the room but he said thats all the best they had, he offered to cancel my booking?? how generous of him. They took over 2 hours to get it to us and delivered it when we were out and left it at the top of the stairs (immediately in the door was a small landing with study area, then stairs down to apartment, meaning someone (I guess me) had to move it down 2 flights of stairs and set it up. Requested someone to do this and they never came after another 2 hours. DId it myself in the end and damaged the wall. Returned to room next day to find they had billed me for the damage. On check out was told the manager would call me, never received call. Complained afterwards to hotel and Quest head office and received a letter from the manager of the property reading like it was written by someone with English as a second language. 50% off my next stay offered. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpw7975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZURICH
Level Contributor
212 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

I stayed in that Hotel/Appartment for 2 months.

The rooms was not clean at all upon arrival and the weekly room service you get with the long stay rate doesen`t care that much about the cleanlyness of you room...

The sofa was full of dust, I had to sneaze all the time untli I cleaned that mess by my self

The rooms are very tired and the furniture is very poor.

An other negativ point is the location; well, it`s only a 10 minute walk to the city but the hotel is on a hill...So it`s no 10 min. walk, it`s rather a 10 minute montain climb...

The long-term rate is okay, but if you just there for a couple of day`s or a week it`s absolutely overpriced...there are a lot of hotels in the absolut citycenter who are offering same priced or even cheaper rooms....

My opinion: Avoid this place!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMMYDEFARGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

stayed in this hotel for two weeks with my family when working at auckland uni. The location is good; it is a 10 minute walk to the city centre and the university.

the rooms are nothing special. they have everything needed but are a little tired looking. They werent quite serviced as much as we had expected, but were okay. have a washing machine and dryer which was good as our kids go through a lot of clothes!

the room we had was on the top floor and had a great view over city, the skytower and over one of the bays. Got some nice photos of dawn over the city!

wireless networking was a bit of a problem, maybe because we were so high up. the hotel doesnt have a network so we tried several city ones. the connection was often pretty lousy, a problem for when i was working at home.

parking is extra and you need a car to get to a supermarket. there are several little shops nearby but the main supermarkets are a 10 minute drive.

overall, was fine but not exceptional

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#61 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown on Cintra Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown on Cintra Lane

Property: Crown on Cintra Lane
Address: 3 Whitaker Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown on Cintra Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown on Cintra Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Cintra Lane Hotel Auckland Central
Crown On Cintra Lane Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing