We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Ranked #4 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
2 reviews
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Beautiful Victorian detached house with a history, magnificent interior, delicious British breakfast, welcoming host with a magnetic sound, everything is just what I thought it should be!
Thanks John & Jackie! I'll definitely stay at your house if ever I would visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
130
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This very much felt like a home away from home. Our house in Sydney is the same age but smaller so it was lovely to experience the grandeur of this old lady. John and Jackie were great hosts, the breakfasts were elegant and delicious, and thankfully there was free off-street parking as they give out tickets on Parliament Street. Very comfortable stay, only downside was the intermittent WiFi. We will be back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has the bath, basin and toilet in the actual bedroom, two are bedrooms only with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

No restored Victorian house, no breakfast, no friendly hosts, no personal care has ever been better. But the internet connection needs to move into the 21st century. The location is perfect for university business and thanks for your warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRawlingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our stay at Braemar was accidental, as another BnB had double-booked us. When we arrived the building stood within the CBD of Auckland and blended in with the urban facades. We were a little hesitant at what may lay within.

Braemar is a diamond within Auckland's CBD and as soon as you walk through the front door, you'll understand. The ceilings are high, wooden floorboards, Victorian interior, character plus plus plus!

Our room was the deluxe which was spacious, had a decent sized room, an attached lounge and with incredible interiors, furniture and all with the most ornate detailing. The bathrooms were our favourite.

John and his staff really looked after us and delivered a very sincere and helpful service. The breakfast was delicious and our car was kindly valet parked.

I highly recommend experiencing the Braemar and Auckland's downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights in early April 2013. This is a historic building with lots of interesting rooms with pictures and objects etc. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, comfortable, quiet and uncomplicated - just my cup of tea. The owner is helpful and friendly and the wifi is free. No complaints whatsoever. A bit more expensive than other options but worth paying for IMO if budget isn't your top concern.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The Braemar on Parliament Street Bed and Breakfast in Auckland offered us a nice last night in New Zealand.

This place is not cheap but it has flair. The old house is very impressive and you feel the history in the rooms. You are far away from the anonymous hotels that are everywere in Auckland.

The host and his staff are very dedicated. The host makes you feel welcome right away and you feel that he is very pasionate about this place, he even provides his guess with spring water from a well nearby. Ask him about the story of the well.

This is one of the place we will come back to on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

John, thankyou for being the best host and have already told friends and family about your beautiful place and how you have restored it. The free parking and fabulous breakfast was the absolute bonus and the room was beautiful.Thankyou for your kind hospitality and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: choose the room with the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Property: Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Address: 7 Parliament Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's nothing else like it. Braemar is the only heritage home right in town you can sleep in. A lovingly restored 115 year old Victorian town-house, in park like surroundings with all the attractions of NZ's largest city just a short walk away. On the University of Auckland campus, up the hill from Vector Arena, the Auckland SkyTower, ASB Tennis Stadium and over a hundred of the finest restaurants in New Zealand. We include FREE; full breakfast, valet parking, high speed wifi and run of the house lounges. Your host John is a born and bred Aucklander and loves to share his local knowledge and great life stories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar On Parliament Street B&B Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing