We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very different (and very good)”

Auckland Seaplanes Ltd
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.99*
and up
Auckland Seaplane Tour
Ranked #15 of 130 Outdoor Activities in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: AUCKLAND SEAPLANES operates from the Auckland Harbour Aerodrome from where the first pioneering flying boats flew 80 years ago. Fast forward to today; Auckland Seaplane's 8-seater De Havilland Beaver Floatplane can be seen taking off from the heart of the City of Sails and flying to stunning island destinations in the Hauraki Gulf and beyond. Auckland Tourism comments that the Seaplane is an exciting and welcome addition to the Auckland tourism palette, bringing an air of swashbuckling adventure, history and romance to the Wynyard Quarter. A region as vast and majestic as the Auckland region can only be truly appreciated form the air. Our aerodrome is the most convenient departure point for passengers given its walking distance from many hotels, the main shopping district and its good connection to the public transport/ferry network. The Hauraki Gulf's pristine beaches and bays serve as destinations for the seaplane. Passengers can enjoy scenic flights, wine-tastings, dining, overnight stays, transfers, adventure tours, fishing trips in breath-taking locations. The possibilities are endless! Our team is composed of qualified pilots and professionals, eager to provide a unique, first-class experience to locals and tourists alike. We have nationalities covering all corners of the globe, all passionate about showcasing the beauty, culture and possibility of the Auckland Region.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something very different (and very good)”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sun shining and calm seas. What a great experience. Taking off from the harbour and beautiful 20 minute flight to Waiheke Island. What views and soft landing and step out onto the beach. Departure was exciting with tide going out. Great value and very different. Recommend to all as special kiwi memory to a Brit from London.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank johnanthonycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic start to our New Zealand adventures!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I can't recommend this trip enough. We recently enjoyed a trip of a lifetime, exploring New Zealand in a campervan for just over three weeks, and started our adventures with this seaplane tour. The views over Rangitoto and Waiheke were amazing and we were lucky enough to have a wonderfully clear day so the azure blue of the sea against the vivid green of the islands made the landscape look really rather magical.
We would definitely book with Auckland Seaplanes again and this time do one of the longer trips.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louisianna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular way to see Auckland”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to treat ourselves in NZ by going on a fishing trip via a plane ride around the harbour! I had always wanted to travel on a seaplane so it was a good way to combine the 2 experiences and it seems inexpensive compared to other countries. The plane landed on water behind Waiheke Island. We threw out our cast from the plane and caught a couple of snappers. The weather was superb and what a beautiful harbour with turquoise sea. The crew were very prompt, professional and accommodating. Thank you for a great time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TripYing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
364 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a new attraction for Auckland, taking off from the harbour and flying over Rangitoto and Waiheke Islands, or further afield. It is a small professional operation. The day we flew was clear and calm and the views were endless. A fantastic addition to the experiences on offer in Auckland.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best birthday ever”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I normally hate my birthday but this year my wife bought us a trip to Kawau beach house on the seaplane. Steve welcomed us and gave us a great friendly safety instruction and we were off. The views were fantastic. When we arrived Sandra welcomed us. We shared a wonderful antipasto dish- massive and it was all my favourite foods. Our main was pork belly beautifully prepared by Andrew. Dessert including the candle was delicious - would I go back- hell yes - may even stay the night. Well done to both Auckland Seaplanes and Kawau Beach House for show casing the best of Aucklland-

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Seaplanes Ltd also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Seaplanes Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing