We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a place to be!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bethells Beach

Bethells Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.69*
and up
Full-Day Auckland's West Coast Tour with Lunch and Wine Tasting
Ranked #31 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rehetobel
2 reviews
“what a place to be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

just a great place to be and to enjoy silence and the breeze from the sea. great for long walks on the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank floriankarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    66
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big and beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Is a fine beach, big one and in august with very Little people walking around, so looks wild. We did not go from Auckland, we went from Swanson and the road are a Little narrow (2 cars pass easyly but are narrower that a common NZ road) and winding. Piha beach is other beach in the área that worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jordiDG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rugged Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Everyone has to spend time here and walk the Te henga walkway the most amazing views of the west coast .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
307 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just a big boomer of a beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This beach whilst it takes a while to get to from Auckland, it just rocks withe black beaches, a river stream, a neat little cafe and some cools little secrets nooks and crannies. Have to get there soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I am an Aucklander and have an intimate relationship with this particular beach. My wife and I try to take all of our overseas visitors to experience the west coast beaches that are Auckland. On a hot summers day walking on the scalding sand or on a winters day with howling winds watching the fury of the boiling surf happening before your very eyes - marvelous. Participating in the miles of open space deafened by the roar of the mighty waves you can really believe you are the only person on earth.
I could go on and on but any visitor to Auckland who doesn't take the opportunity to visit at least one of the amazing west coast beaches is missing out. However if you are tempted to swim at these beaches in the summer please ensure that you are a strong and competent swimmer and SWIM BETWEEN THE FLAGS.

These beaches are nature at its best but also at its most ferocious. Take care!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bethells Beach also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Bethells Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing