We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
206
142
19
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
142
19
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ponsonby area ponsonby road great location free onsite free parking and wifi spa bath off street parking new zealand city centre restaurants and bars separate bedroom front office minute walk kitchen area would definitely stay here again the ground floor within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Comfortable apartments. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location from which to appreciate the charms of Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

On arrival the manager couldnt be more friendly & helpful, the room was great, clean & tidy and she filled the spa pool up when asked & also topped it up again the next day, as we were there for 2nights. Room was well priced, quiet and had plenty of parking, was next door to BP garage & you could easily walk to the shops on ponsonby rd. The manager said they had only taken over a month ago and were still finding there way so im sure next time we stay there things will only be better. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavFriendsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2007

Lovely. A little more expensive than some of the other hotels we used in New Zealand, but probably worth it. Really nice room with lounge area and well equipped kitchenette. Well decorated with a modern bathroom. Our welcome was friendly and we were brought our choice of different teas and made to feel really welcome.

Pleasant walk into the city and right in Ponsonby. Well worth the extra.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel. We found the room well furnished and clean (including a dishwasher?), but on the whole, we thought the room was overpriced at more than $200/night. (Our tourbook was misleading -- it listed the rate at $75+ less.) The first night I didn't sleep at all -- the water pressure from the a/c made a loud popping noise. Since the desk closed at 9pm, we didn't know who to call about the problem. After discovering the issue in the morning, the next night we slept without an air conditioner and the noise went away. One highlight -- our host, Judith couldn't have been nicer. A couple of notes: the hotel looks like a cleaner version of a roadside strip motel in the US; breakfast is not included; ample, free parking is a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennybean74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

After checking out the website, we booked the penthouse suite. The website shows only one building - the lovely old Ponsonby Postoffice, which has recently been fully renovated. From the website it seemed as if the penthouse suite (indeed all the accommodation) was in this heritage building. It was the only building to appear on the website so the assumption was a reasonable one.

After driving for four hours and locating Abaco on Jervois, to our huge dissapointment the property is located at least 300 metres from the Old Ponsonby Post Office and has nothing to do with that property whatsoever. They wanted to charge us $269 for what is a one bedroom motel room - hardly a penthouse suite!

We felt very misled by the website and told the proprietor that we would not stay. We inspected the room, which was clean and tidy enough, but was not what we were led to expect and expensive in the extreme for what was just a motel room.

We did not stay.

9  Thank Marie-Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews