We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abaco On Jervois
Nearby Hotels
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
203
138
19
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
138
19
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponsonby areaponsonby roadgreat locationfree onsitefree parking and wifispa bathminute bus rideoff street parkingsky channelsrestaurants and barsnew zealandseparate bedroomcity centrefront officeshort walkstaff was very friendly and helpfulkitchen area
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I travelled with my Family to Auckland for the Rugby World Cup, we stayed at the Abaco on Jervois and took 3 suites. The standard was excellent all the suites have been recently refurbished with new furniture and fittings. The location was great, restuarants and bars are close by and the bus into the city is 250 metres away but it is an easy 25 minute walk into the harbour if you prefer.

Room Tip: suites are the ones the choose, the cost is reasonable
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The customer service we experienced was fantastic, the receptionist was lovely and kindly showed us the room before we agreed to stay. Check in and check out was quick and easy.

The room was a disaster, not especially clean and to say outdated/old would be the understatement of the year. The only reason we stayed was that nearly everything else in Auckland was booked out that night, not sure but maybe there was a concert on.

To be fair, the hotel is undergoing MAJOR renovations, i.e the new family owners are basically gutting it and starting again and from what we saw of the new rooms as we walked past it is going to be LOVELY.

However i would not recommend to anyone staying in the older rooms, even with the so called "reduced" price they are still not nearly worth the money. We have stayed in Auckland a lot over the past month so had several other hotels to compare the price to.

The location is really handy to the central city if you do not have a car, and you can catch the green link bus from Ponsonby. If you have a car you are not really gaining much at the moment by staying here as opposed to a central city hotel, except for free car parking.

We liked the friendly staff and wish them the best with the renovations we liked least the room! Parking is outside your door so thats going to be a bonus for drivers.

Room Tip: Pay for the new renovated rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Book the Abaco! Stop looking through Trip Advisor and feel confident that you'll have a great stay!!

I stayed at the Abaco on Jervois with my boyfriend, mother, sister and brother-in-law. We were in New Zealand for a holiday and were in Christchurch when the Feb 22 Earthquake struck. Our family was scattered and Christchurch was a broken city with resources extremely limited, so we decided to all go to Auckland to reunite, shower and relax without the many aftershocks. Luckily we found the Abaco. The hosts were wonderful and extremely accommodating. They upgraged my sister and her husband to a corner suite (bigger room) which was appreciated as they were in NZ for their wedding which had to be cancelled.

The rooms are lovely and I'm very fussy. Ample space, nice bathroom, and a view of the Sky Tower (it was red for Christchurch while we were there) and of the harbour - very pretty scenery right outside the door. Also had a balcony out the back of the rooms were we could sit in the sun.

The area is great, public transport nearby and Ponsonby is a nice area to walk around - lots of shops and restaurants very close by.

My mother went back and stayed there, and I wanted to give her some flowers. Once again the hosts were extremely helpful and suggested local florist to contact.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicemac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Comfortable apartments. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location from which to appreciate the charms of Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

On arrival the manager couldnt be more friendly & helpful, the room was great, clean & tidy and she filled the spa pool up when asked & also topped it up again the next day, as we were there for 2nights. Room was well priced, quiet and had plenty of parking, was next door to BP garage & you could easily walk to the shops on ponsonby rd. The manager said they had only taken over a month ago and were still finding there way so im sure next time we stay there things will only be better. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HavFriendsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews