We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the rest?”
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best of the rest?”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Booked Abaco after finding it nigh on impossible to get four nights in downtown Auckland during a business trip (two big cruise ships in town)
It's quite obvious this is an older style motel that has been renovated, but the renovations are tasteful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the rates are good, and the wifi is free
Best of all it's not far from the bars and restaurants of Ponsonby and it's only a five minute drive to the Viaduct waterfront
If the hotels in town are ever booked out in future, I'l probably stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a ground or first floor room The climb up to the second floor with a heavy bag will do your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    111
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
52
182
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here the night my Nan died. Found them on the internet - for some reason nearly all of Auckland was booked! I actually rang just after reception had closed but the guy stayed open for us and organised Mum a shuttle to the airport in the morning. Excellent location, gorgeous room!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A busy weekend in Auckland meant accommodation was at a minimum! We needed a room for the four of us and nothing was available, but Abaco managed to squeeze us in. Our boys, 7 and 8, shared a mattress and bedding on the floor next to our king bed. We had planned to share the bed with the youngest, but he wiggles too much! Haha

The room was very clean and modern. Next time I hope a room with two beds is available! ;)

The only issue was the bathroom floor ... slippery when wet! Having recently had knee replacement surgery, I had some difficulty climbing into and out of the spa bath. I had to stand on a towel in the bath to keep from slipping and hold onto the towel rack for support. Thankfully, it was solidly fastened to the wall! Haha

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usakiwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here between packing up my house and moving to Melbourne. Excellent spot handy to Auckland central and especially Ponsonby. Nothing was too much trouble even to the point of storing my luggage. Clean tidy accommodation and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble!! Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank S4shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stay here several times a year for work. The rooms are good and have everything you need. Agree it's worth it to upgrade to a suite rather than studio. On a couple of occasions have noticed the shower doesn't drain that well. Great location and easy to get to the city. Dido's tapas bar across the road from Abaco is fantastic.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JofromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have stayed at Abaco twice now (and will again in July and Aug). The rooms are clean, spacious and fully equipped. The little touches also go a long way, teas and coffees are replenished, fresh milk on arrival, servicing of the rooms, friendly staff and very thoughful owners. We are looking forward to our next trip to Auckland in July and staying at Abaco.

Thank you and keep up the good work
Samantha Luther & Family

Room Tip: All the rooms are just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Contrary to the one dissatisfied client, I have been staying at Abaco for the last few months on and off. I am an expat from the States. The accommodation at Abaco is by far the best value available in Auckland. In addition, the owners and staff are absolutely fantastic! They run a very good operation and are overly accommodating. I haven't a clue what the gentlemen with the kids is talking about. From this travelling professional's standpoint, I haven't found a better situation than the one at Abaco!

As for the condition of the hotel: the rooms are all remodeled with very nice furnishings. Free Sky TV, good Internet (& wireless), and fantastic service has been my experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaglespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing