We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CENTRAL- CLEAN- FRIENDLY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“CENTRAL- CLEAN- FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My son and I stayed only one night,very clean, nice modern decor,everything we needed, short walk to restaurants,handy to city also. Lovely couple, doing great job. A must return when next in Auckland. Tariff very reasonable for location.Found this on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: We were at the end upstairs. No noise from road.A one bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    106
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
174
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night and were very impressed with excellent service, rooms and amenities.
The location is great with just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and bars ..
In particular we enjoyed the free upgrade and the level of comfort and space was awesome and will definitely be back.
Only one minor heck up was the spa bath that didnt have power but awesome big bath that was good to soak in .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one night on our return from a week in the Coromandel, just prior to flying home. Found it with the tripadvisor app on my phone. We both loved the place. Small room, but very well though out arrangement to best utilise the space available.

Clean and modern with lovely bed, nice big screen panel TV in room, and almost all the sky channels. Loved the location as well, nice and close to Ponsonby road for a bite to eat, or a coffee.

Will be recommending them to my travel coordinator for the company that I work for as its a short walk from here to our head office, and a perfect place to stay for business. Excellent sound proofing & double glazing in the rooms, as the place was full on the night of our stay, but we didn't hear a wiser all night.

I look forward to staying here again, on my next visit to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraseryvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Booked Abaco after finding it nigh on impossible to get four nights in downtown Auckland during a business trip (two big cruise ships in town)
It's quite obvious this is an older style motel that has been renovated, but the renovations are tasteful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the rates are good, and the wifi is free
Best of all it's not far from the bars and restaurants of Ponsonby and it's only a five minute drive to the Viaduct waterfront
If the hotels in town are ever booked out in future, I'l probably stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a ground or first floor room The climb up to the second floor with a heavy bag will do your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here the night my Nan died. Found them on the internet - for some reason nearly all of Auckland was booked! I actually rang just after reception had closed but the guy stayed open for us and organised Mum a shuttle to the airport in the morning. Excellent location, gorgeous room!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

A busy weekend in Auckland meant accommodation was at a minimum! We needed a room for the four of us and nothing was available, but Abaco managed to squeeze us in. Our boys, 7 and 8, shared a mattress and bedding on the floor next to our king bed. We had planned to share the bed with the youngest, but he wiggles too much! Haha

The room was very clean and modern. Next time I hope a room with two beds is available! ;)

The only issue was the bathroom floor ... slippery when wet! Having recently had knee replacement surgery, I had some difficulty climbing into and out of the spa bath. I had to stand on a towel in the bath to keep from slipping and hold onto the towel rack for support. Thankfully, it was solidly fastened to the wall! Haha

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usakiwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here between packing up my house and moving to Melbourne. Excellent spot handy to Auckland central and especially Ponsonby. Nothing was too much trouble even to the point of storing my luggage. Clean tidy accommodation and friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble!! Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank S4shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing