We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for very comfortable unit in great location”
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Delighted with standard of this accommodation for the price, especially so close to centre of Auckland. Room had everything we needed including free unlimited wifi (hooray!) and spa bath.

Within walking distance of downtown, or use the inner loop bus.

Good service also. We especially appreciated being allowed to leave our car during our last day in NZ - thanks so much!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DellaSalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Abaco On Jervois
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was the first motel we stayed in during our 3 weeks’ vacation. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the fact that we had a lot of commodities (kitchenette with fridge, microwave, plates, etc.) Another point for this hotel is the fact that the wifi Internet was free and the signal was good - this is important for me. The hosts were very nice and gave us good recommendations.

I would recommend this motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just got back from 3 weeks in NZ and spent our first week here. Janine offered us a one bedroom apartment for the price of a studio and it was fantastic. The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Lovely comfy bed and a huge bathroom with a walk in shower. There were cooking facilities and a fridge. They also supplied us with teas, coffee and milk. The staff were very helpful and the hotel is located very centrally . Easy to walk 5 minutes to Ponsonby Road where you will find loads of bars and restaurants. You can also walk into central quite easily (but you may want to get the bus back up the hill!). If you want a special night out there is a fantastic steak restaurant just across the road (Jervois Steak House) - absolutely divine! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I have noticed people had said there was some noise issues but we found it very quiet - even though the place was full - perhaps that is because coming from London we were used to a lot more noise - who knows.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dogswig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here in mid-October and were very happy with our choice. The motel is family owned and Logan, Janine and Steve all made us very comfortable with good advice and even, just before we left, doing our laundry. The place is in Ponsonby, an attractive area full of good restaurants, cafes and designer shops, but The New World Grocery is just down the hill. The Executive Studio we rented was eqipped with everything we needed and even included a dishwasher. Two major bus lines are five minutes away, parking is free and the rooms are incredibly quiet for being on a main road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had booked 2 nights in studio apartment, which was very satisfactory for our needs. Great supply of coffee, milo & tea's. Mattress left a bit to be desired i.e. when one of us turned over in bed the whole bed moved. We decided to stay 1 further night but could not be accommodated in the same unit, so Janine very kindly gave us an executive unit at same price as studio. She also insisted on moving our luggage up to executive unit. The bed was great. We would definitely stay here again and will let others know about it. We also liked its proximity to cafes & shops in Jervois road. The units were remarkably quiet for being on such a busy road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Based on the reviews of this motel, I chose to stay 2 night. Lived up to expectations. Conveniently located - close to Auckland city, local restaurants and shops. Studio apartment although small had all that is required, nice modern design with small kitchenette, bathroom. Attention to detail. Large plasma TV. Free internet!
Room not very sound proof- was noisy at night when people climbed the metal staircase (external) and chatted. Parking seemed limited - doesn't seem to be 1 parking spot per apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived late at night in the rain and were booked in quickly and efficiently- we had a ground floor studio room. The room was superbly decorated and spotlessly clean. Lots of little extra like toiletries in the bathroom - big selection of coffee/tea.
Our room consisted of a double bed (our booking confirmation said King bed) small table and chairs, kitchenette fully stocked with cutlery crockery microwave and everything you would need to self cater.
En suite bathroom is modern, clean but a little cramped.
We were in room 816 on the ground floor but I found it a little small and it was difficult to store suitcases etc
Free wifi is provided and abundant restaurants nearby

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 811-815 would be the choice if you are staying more than one or two nights as the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Address: 57 - 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £76 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing