We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great value accommodation in walking distance of the city with free onsite parking. The service was friendly, the rooms were well styled, clean and comfortable. Free internet and kitchenette suitable for breakfast catering. Several dining option in same street. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PouletFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    105
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
172
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Abaco on 3 separate occasions between 22 November and 5 December and each visit was great. Accommodation was very clean, stylish and comfortable and provided everything we needed. Free internet was a bonus. The staff were really helpful and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

About twenty minutes' walk from the wharf, this motel was excellent value and had brilliant facilities. We had a one bedroom apartment, with separate lounge with pull out bed and separate bathroom with shower. We also had a kitchenette, complete with dishwasher, toaster, kettle with tea bags, fridge with one pint of milk, job, pots and pans and cutlery. There was a spa pool which you had to pay extra for but I don't know how much as we didn't use it. Little bottles of toiletries were provided. Room was quiet and comfortable; plenty of towels provided. A number of good breakfast places under ten minutes' walk.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Delighted with standard of this accommodation for the price, especially so close to centre of Auckland. Room had everything we needed including free unlimited wifi (hooray!) and spa bath.

Within walking distance of downtown, or use the inner loop bus.

Good service also. We especially appreciated being allowed to leave our car during our last day in NZ - thanks so much!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DellaSalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This was the first motel we stayed in during our 3 weeks’ vacation. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the fact that we had a lot of commodities (kitchenette with fridge, microwave, plates, etc.) Another point for this hotel is the fact that the wifi Internet was free and the signal was good - this is important for me. The hosts were very nice and gave us good recommendations.

I would recommend this motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just got back from 3 weeks in NZ and spent our first week here. Janine offered us a one bedroom apartment for the price of a studio and it was fantastic. The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Lovely comfy bed and a huge bathroom with a walk in shower. There were cooking facilities and a fridge. They also supplied us with teas, coffee and milk. The staff were very helpful and the hotel is located very centrally . Easy to walk 5 minutes to Ponsonby Road where you will find loads of bars and restaurants. You can also walk into central quite easily (but you may want to get the bus back up the hill!). If you want a special night out there is a fantastic steak restaurant just across the road (Jervois Steak House) - absolutely divine! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I have noticed people had said there was some noise issues but we found it very quiet - even though the place was full - perhaps that is because coming from London we were used to a lot more noise - who knows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogswig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here in mid-October and were very happy with our choice. The motel is family owned and Logan, Janine and Steve all made us very comfortable with good advice and even, just before we left, doing our laundry. The place is in Ponsonby, an attractive area full of good restaurants, cafes and designer shops, but The New World Grocery is just down the hill. The Executive Studio we rented was eqipped with everything we needed and even included a dishwasher. Two major bus lines are five minutes away, parking is free and the rooms are incredibly quiet for being on a main road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
1.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing