We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet”
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed in in Abaco for the first day of my visit to NZ. I was very impressed with the room. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Recommanded places to go in the area, patient with my English(It is my second language). Will rocommand to my friends if they got plan visiting NZ.

Room Tip: Pleasant stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    117
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
54
188
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is just beautiful, could not fault 1 thing only that we would of like to stay longer and it was unavailable.We had a little studio room down the bottom it was just beautiful, a Countdown down the road.

Room Tip: Steak house across road very very pricey. no swimming pool cant get the rating thing to go off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourfamilyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Here in Ponsonby for a training course, the Abaco is extremely well located. Next to service station and bus stop, walking distance to restaurants, even the library is around the corner. Friendly service, free wi-fi, free national calls, lots of Sky channels, clean, modern rooms... it has a lot of pluses.

On the downside, a slight buzzing from power box, tight parking.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johngrimesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having stayed at Abaco 4 times over the past year felt it was time to enter a review......location is excellent - the rooms fully and tastefully refurbished - and scrupulously clean.......thanks guys see you again during the year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and stayed in the Abaco for one night in early April on a layover. It was really pleasant. The room was very nicely appointed. The kitchen was incredibly handy for breakfast. The area is quite nice for bars and restaurants. It is a little quiet, but in a good way. If you want a pleasant dinner with some good wine or beer, then there are lots of nice places for you in this area.

The hotel were really good to us as well, letting us check in early and check out an hour later than normal because our flight didn't leave until the early afternoon. In all, we really couldn't fault this hotel. A great choice for a stay in Auckland!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just stayed at Abaco on Jervois for the second time - praise in itself. It is convenient for us to stay near family in Ponsonby, but the location is great for anyone visiting Auckland - close to transport - link buses to the city - free if you are a Senior (!), restaurants and shops - and parking is free. The owners even let our friends park there for no charge. We were upgraded because the motel was not full and given a choice of one bedroomed unit. We chose the 2nd floor because you get a better view of the city - sky tower looks great at night. The motel is clean and owners delightful. We were offered help with our bags - not something you always get. We'd go back again and cannot rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit and had the choice of first or second floor. Chose the second for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Abaco on Jervois in October, and it was a great choice. We booked the "executive studio" which was plenty big for a couple. I liked that it was on the top floor, and the lovely little kitchen was a nice bonus. The owners are great - they are so accommodating - offering recommendations on whatever you need. We were in Audkland at the start and end of our trip and they let us leave a bag behind, which was a big help. Loved the location. So convenient, nice restaurants nearby. The hotel was quiet.
If I were going back to Auckland, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and book one of the rooms that is on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,182 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 57 - 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing