We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice dinner”
Review of Ostro

Ostro
Ranked #59 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$102
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OSTRO BRASSERIE AND BAR BOASTS A MENU BY JOSH EMETT, SWEEPING SEA AND CITY VIEWS AND AN INTERIOR CELEBRATING THE SEAFARERS BUILDING'S COLOURFUL PAST. Taking its name from the Italian word for 'a southerly wind', Ostro is a bold New Zealand interpretation of an international-style brasserie, with an upscale yet unpretentious atmosphere and multiple Michelin-starred chef Josh Emett at the culinary helm. Ostro sweeps across the entire second floor of the Seafarers Building, a onetime home to transient sailors which is being transformed by the team behind Ebisu, Tyler Street Garage and Fukuko into six dynamic floors of eateries, bars, a screening room and a private members' club. The Seafarers development's flagship eatery and bar is a literal feast for the senses. An all-weather terrace affords diners breathtaking views of Waitemata Harbour from the brasserie side, while glimpses of Britomart and the wider city can be enjoyed from the more casual City Terrace Bar.
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I like this restaurant. It has a very modern feel with industrial interiors and an almost surreal view of the docks at night. If not for the view, you might think that you are in New York City. The place is meant to be a brasserie so do not expect fine dining. Service was prompt and efficient.

The squid ink risotto was very well made. The clam appetizer and fisherman soup were delicious. My yellow belly flounder had too many capers that it overwhelmed the flavor of this delicate fish. The fillet was good. We did enjoy the desserts...Bombe Alaska and brandy snaps. Overall, we had a memorable dinner at Ostro.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    161
    75
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Any place in the world”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I love Auckland but Ostro's food, service and atmosphere felt as if you were dining in any top city in the world. Impressive noisy bistro type vibe with 5 star food. We at already planning for our next business celebration to take place at Ostro. Well done guys

Helpful?
Thank JWALK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night out”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked a table for our work dinner at this restaurant for something different. Wow it is a vibrant place. On arrival a tab was set up and we had no problems with this. the bar area was full and overflowing but outside on the deck we found a patio fire pit, covered but warm it was a good area to talk. the small downside was being forgotten to be advised when table was ready but staff more than made up for this, complimentary glass of bubbles. the water glasses were constantly topped up. The food was amazing we went with a set 3 course menu, portion were a little varied but being so busy understandable. a highlight was the head chef coming out to introduce himself. acoustics maybe not so good but remembering this is winter, in the summer with doors all open probably would be different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning view, ok food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

In spite of the view being the working docks of Auckland along with the very busy waterfront road, Ostro's position high above both is fantastic. We sat outside on a sunny winters day on the narrow glassed balcony and took it all in. The service was attentive and we had high expectations for the food. Sadly though although they were fine, chicken and burger respectively, and rather sad, the goats cheese salad, they really did not merit the fine dining experience that should be Ostro and certainly not value for money considering the prices. The space is gorgeous as is the view, the food needs to be better frankly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FBMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, pity we didn't get desert”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We dined here on Saturday night, there was a group of 8 of us. We were booked for 8pm, but didn't get our table until about 820pm, there didn't seem to be a great rush to get our table ready!

Our waiter was lovely and explained everything to us really well, entrees & mains were awesome. But unfortunately it went down hill for the last part of our evening. We were given dessert menus, and most of us were keen to order but we were completely forgotten about. Our water glasses, wine glasses were empty and no one bothered refilling etc. By the time the waiter returned to us, which was about 40 minutes after giving us menus we decided to get the bill and go elsewhere for dessert.

It was a really disappointing way to end the evening. Whether our waiter went off for his meal break or something, I'm not sure - when we explained why we were leaving, he didn't understand at all (english was his second language so maybe we didn't explain ourselves well enough).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ostro also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing