We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The room has very bad air ventilation, only a small window. Beside a main road, very noisy in the night. Kitchen is so dirty that you really dont wanna cook in it. Parking is expensive near the area. Location is good if you deem staying near queen street and sky tower is good, or if u dont have a car. If you have a car, dont bother staying here, it difficult to find parking n very expensive. The hostel attract mainly korean n japanese. The reception, korean n japanese are nice though.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michie_Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2010

Booked a Double room:
Room: Very very basic! No tv and no AC... am not sure if they really have AC on any other rooms...staff are almost chinese. korean or japanese.... i think AKL has lots of them. At least they can understand english so no worries there.
Toilet is good spacy it is with good working hot water...
Bed is as they say creaked... not that comfy at all...
Location is even better just a few steps from the skytower and a few minutes from the Airbus and some few sites...
They can make bookings for tours and thats nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trent777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Very basic hostel. The beds weren't that comfy and creaked and squeaked every time you moved. There were no sheets so I couldn't be sure how clean the duvets were as most places don't change them between guests. The computers had no headphones or microphone so you couldn't use skype even though it was installed! The internet was slow too. The staff didn't seem to know what was going on in the hostel, let alone in Auckland. I managed for a week but wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This palace is the best one I ever stay in NZ.
The staff are most welcoming , friendly and informative.
24 hours reception is good for safety.
The location is just across from Skytower. You can walk in at night with no problem.
and this hostel is very clean.Its very comfortable place to stay.
I will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockiesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

For New Zealand standards, this is a poor hostel. Thin mattresses and rooms that are too warm. Kitchen is way too small and it is not a good place to meet people. It's not horrible, but I would not recommend this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I think this place must've changed since the first reviews were written. I found the staff very helpful, nice, and fun. The other people staying at the hostel were lovely, nice, and respectful in terms of space, cleanliness, and noise levels. I had a very comfortable time there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bette1stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Staff at checkin overcharged us for room, despite booking on hostelbookers and having a pre-agreed rate, we where charged completely different price, had to argue for an hour to sort this out.
Room was large, empty, VERY loud, uncomfy and no air-con (we stayed in double) pillows where dirty.
Where both backpacking and dont have any high expectations at all, but this place is the same price as a 4-star hotel down the road (Oaks group) dont stay here, we checked out within 2 hours and checked into base, which is a 2minute walk down the road and so much cheaper.
Rooms there are comfy quite, have a TV and private shower aswell.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_orchard02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#39 of 131 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#65 of 131 in Auckland Central
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#56 of 131 in Auckland Central
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Address: Level 1 102 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £11 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf `n` Snow Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing