We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The room smelled terrible. The window was extremely unsafe for my two year old daughter, she could easily have climbed out and fallen three flights to the street below. The mis matched bed linen was so old it was transparent. The bed was uncomfortable. The pillows were lumpy. The floor was filthy. There were two wet patches on the floor. The air con was so noisy I was unable to sleep. The common areas and bathrooms were filthy. The curtain did not fit the window and was stained.

The 'operations manager' Shingo Furuichi is unwilling to address these concerns.

This is the worst accommodation I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Go to a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great Location (except no parking!) BUT in a Noisey area (central CBD).
Reception staff lovely - BUT reception area a mess.
Clean, Basic accomadation with towels supplied BUT curtains didnt fit and windows didnt shut!
Booked a triple room, from what i read, should have been 3 single beds but ended up with 1 double and 1 single. Wasnt such a stresser as only needed somewhere to rest our weary heads for 1 night.
I am sure there are worse and the cost, location and friendlyness of staff made it a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecouple178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I've been in New Zealand for about 6 months, in different places.
Every backpackers has something special, but on this backpackers happens something really amazing, the people who works there it's really nice (cleaners, receptionist, managers), always they are sharing with others and having a great time near to the reception, in the kitchen or in the smoking area.
It's a clean place and the rooms are ok for the price.

If you want to have a good experience with different kind of people and in an excelent environment, I definitely recommend this backpackers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alonso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I spent one week in this hostel. In my opinion is really nice. The staff is really kind. They helped me in organize my trip around New Zealand with a lot of options and information that I had no idea. They plan all my trip at a really good price. :) Is not a dry hostel and you have a smoking area, you can sit there and don't have go out to smoke in the street. The rooms are quiet. I stayed in a 10 bed without any problem. The bathroom is clean and airy.
I recomend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Whilst travelling in New Zealand for 1 month we booked this hostel because the city accommodation was fully booked - it was the worst experience of the trip. When we arrived we were told these were the last 2 beds. You could not access the beds at all due to baggage in the way from other guests that had been living there for a prolonged period of time. The room was windowless, hot & smelly. We immediately started walking up the road checking for late availability in the nearby hotels and were able to secure alternative accommodation. On returning to the hostel we were denied a refund and offered an alternative room, however the attitude of the staff was so unfriendly that we had decided that under no circumstances were we going to stay at this hostel. It is worrying that lone female travellers may be in this environment. Avoid this hostel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Me and my friend almost checked out again after just checking in. I'm not sure what the smell was and where it cam from but it wasn't pleasent. Luckily the the next day it was almost gone. twin room was basic and sheets clean, carpet not though.
We've chosen it for location and cheap price but wouldn't choose it again.
Staff didn't know the area too well but tried to helpby going on internet for us and were friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Odili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Horrible hostel. Just came back from a 5 day stay in Auckland at this place - chosen because of its location and cheap price. I know when choosing something cheap you're not expecting luxury, but then you're not expecting to feel like you're squatting either. Shared a twin room here, which was as basic as you could get - beds and a side table and that's it - nothing else. But the fun started when we entered the room - both beds had not had their sheets changed and were literally in the state left by the previous guests - staff were notified and not extremely apologetic when changing them. Internet was expensive - had to pay for towels and the bathroom was horrible. Their idea of cleaning the bathroom meant leaving soap suds over every toilet seat without wiping them down after. Internet dropped out constantly and although the passcode for the front door was supposed to be changed on mondays, I couldn't get in mid-week as it had been changed without notifying the guests. The place made me feel dirty, and we both felt quite offended at the way guests were expected to put up with this kind of laziness and incompetence - end of story.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emeidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Host...
#69 of 131 in Auckland Central
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#68 of 131 in Auckland Central
936 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#38 of 131 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newton Lodge
Newton Lodge
#58 of 131 in Auckland Central
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#31 of 131 in Auckland Central
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#67 of 131 in Auckland Central
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Address: Level 1 102 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £13 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf `n` Snow Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing