We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central - 1 minute walk to Queen St”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I'm surprised to see the negative reviews here. When I stayed (Feb 13) it seemed well run & not particularly grubby. VERY central & has all the usual facilities inc LOADS of info on tours & adventures in NZ. Staff friendly & helpful - would stay again - If you opt for a single room be aware that some of them are in the centre of the building with no window - not a big deal if it's only a place to crash for the night tho. I left my backpack in the small storage room off reception with no probs. I had no experience of the dorms here

Room Tip: see above re single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Surf 'N' Snow due to its central location.
Granted its handy for town, but if you actually plan on sleeping I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
1. The mattresses felt like they had come out of a tip. There were springs poking out and different angles and it was impossible to get comfortable. Staff were informed and apparently reguarly get the same complaint with no action from the owners.
2. The room was dirty and musty smelling
3. The traffic noise and drunken noise was very loud
4. The window didn't stay open to air the room

Otherwise - reception staff were friendly

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we spent one night at the hostel during our stay in new zealand and i have to say that it was the worst experience of our holiday - i hadn't expected much for the price, but i hadn't expected so bad conditions. we had the tripel ensuite room - the towesl and the bed linen were dirty, a lot of hair in the bed... we got new bed linen, but we were not able to sleep well. we also couldn't close the very little window - so a lot of noise from the street... the single bed broke down in the night, the bathroom wasn't clean at all...

Room Tip: look for another hostel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I booked to stay here for 3 nights, but only stayed 1. I have stayed in several backpackers around auckland and new zealand. This place was awful, the beds were unbelievably uncomfortable, you could feel every metal bar of the bunk bed through the matress. The sheets were dirty and smelt, the pillow was just as bad and wafer thin. The room also had water pipes in the roof and everytime someone turned a tap on or flushed the loo you were woken up by the water going through the pipes. The bathrooms were filthy, loo roll and water on the floors, some doors had no locks and the shower cubicles had no room to move to get dressed. The showers themselve were absolutely filthy, black with dirt. After one night i moved to another place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natnatn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hi Travelers,

I've currently stayed in that particular backpacker and must say it was anything else than enjoying.

Lonely planet says it's a new backpacker but it is not!!!

The rooms are fitted with bunk beds (I stayed in a 6 bed dorm) and it was a mess and not clean at all. Every room has luggage boxes to be able to lock something away. However there was one of them right at the start of the isle which has a broken lid. Somebody must've tried to open that box violently while being locked, which looked very welcoming and trusting.

The toilet and shower facilities were old and shabby and there is almost no privacy because of those huge windows which are equipped with normal glass. Basically the showers are in a little cabin. It's almost impossible to squeeze around the shower door and the "cabin"-wall into the shower or the other way around as a normal sized person. You will find a hook for your clothes but anything else needs to be put onto the wet floor. The water was cold when I took the shower in the early morning hours...

I only stayed one night and I was even more exhausted the next day because of lack of sleep. First it was impossible to get one eye shut, the room was bright because of street lights outside which easily shine through white curtains. A few room mates returned at 4am in the morning throwing there things on the bed and making lots of noise, whereas one of them turned around every three minutes in the bunk bed which caused an enormous earthquake every time she turned around.

Security: There was almost none. People from my room didn't take the responsibility to lock the door of the room. The luggage box was to small for all my stuff and what I mentioned first, it didn't look safe anyway. So, who in that hostel is responsible when something went missing, but I've to be responsible to lock the room and others don't care? I brought that incident up towards the receptionist and they took somehow action but offending the wrong person who had nothing to do with the unlocked door at all. The staff was not behaving in a confident, supporting and responsible manner.

Yeah, it's great to have staff working who speaks all sorts of languages but it doesn't make the hostel looks great.

One of these Korean blokes from the reception thought he knows everything about NZ and wanted me to get the idea that I've bought the wrong tickets but felt terrible upset when I asked him whether he was from Korea... He'd better go and learn how to do proper customer service and study local travel and tourism before he gives advice.

They offered to look after ones luggage while checking out earlier. The Japanese lady asked me to put it in the lobby next where the brochures are, that would be safe there... It's an unbelievable irresponsible, unprofessional and untrustworthy service there.

All I can recommend you is to stay somewhere else!

Good luck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biggiboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The room smelled terrible. The window was extremely unsafe for my two year old daughter, she could easily have climbed out and fallen three flights to the street below. The mis matched bed linen was so old it was transparent. The bed was uncomfortable. The pillows were lumpy. The floor was filthy. There were two wet patches on the floor. The air con was so noisy I was unable to sleep. The common areas and bathrooms were filthy. The curtain did not fit the window and was stained.

The 'operations manager' Shingo Furuichi is unwilling to address these concerns.

This is the worst accommodation I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Go to a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sooziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great Location (except no parking!) BUT in a Noisey area (central CBD).
Reception staff lovely - BUT reception area a mess.
Clean, Basic accomadation with towels supplied BUT curtains didnt fit and windows didnt shut!
Booked a triple room, from what i read, should have been 3 single beds but ended up with 1 double and 1 single. Wasnt such a stresser as only needed somewhere to rest our weary heads for 1 night.
I am sure there are worse and the cost, location and friendlyness of staff made it a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecouple178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.1 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#40 of 132 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Hostel
Nomads Auckland Hostel
#70 of 132 in Auckland Central
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newton Lodge
Newton Lodge
#57 of 132 in Auckland Central
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#69 of 132 in Auckland Central
963 reviews
0.9 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#2 of 132 in Auckland Central
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#63 of 132 in Auckland Central
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Address: Level 1 102 Albert Street, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £12 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf `n` Snow Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing