We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack your earplugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pack your earplugs”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Positives-well appointed kitchen and laundry with washer and dryer, friendly and informative staff at reception on arrival, good view from 5th floor room.

Negatives- the room lacked air conditioning and the traffic noise was too much with windows open and even with them shut the noise was still intrusive.
One of the reasons we chose these apartments was because they advertised that Sky TV is available including sport. The only "sport" channel was Trackside-a horse/racing channel.
The label "One Bedroom" is a little misleading in that the bedroom and lounge area are separated by bi-fold louvered doors. The apartment is more like a studio.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W_G_N_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    38
    26
    17
    9
See reviews for
18
36
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Our apartment was burgled on the second day we were there. On return, we found the room was serviced, my suitcase was still locked but the zipper was cut open, likely with the kitchen knife readily available in the apartment. The director of the apartment came and first thing she said was that we must have left the door unlocked. We know we used the hotel key to open the door, so it was locked and the room was serviced.

She handed me the phone number for Auckland central police station and I called to make a report myself.

There are no security camera on the floor of the apartment and the reception is off to one side and people could have walked in. So the one star rating says it all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rho88e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Picton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Found this apartment on the net for $300 per night, so booked for 2 nights. On arrival was advised there would be a parking fee- not advertised. Accepted that but was disappointed withe state of the bathroom. Not only was there mould and undusted, unwashed surfaces the little shelf above the wash hand basin tilted at such an angle that products slid off!
On the lounge there were 4 cushions with the stuffing literally coming out of them.
We were tired so we did stay 1 night but cancelled the second. Initially they wanted to charge us for both nights but in the end that didn't happen. They even wanted us to show their cleaning staff what needed cleaning!!! Believe me anyone could see what was wrong with that apartment!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Great appartment with very nice view over Auckland. Situated just out of the city center on a busy street though (so some traffic noise). Supermarket is about 20mins walk (One World) or take the free shuttle bus 2 blocks away. Some convenience stores available and easy walking distance to the City Center

Staff was very helpful and friendly, room was clean (for NZ standards) and fitted with washer, dryer and dishwasher. Minus will be the noise of the washer/dryer and missing curtains. Overall we'd love to come back here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WieMie-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

As I must have been the first one who stayed there for only less than an hour!

4.5 star qualified? 125NZD/night?! NO WAY! on what grounds??

This is a condominium. NOT a high-quality apartment hotel at all.
YHA would offer a lot better quality for its prices.

Do NOT believe what you see in the picture... Room is not as new and is not as clean as it seems. Has a nice view of Harbour bridge with a balcony, though I had to dash out after suffering from flea itches.

So, after having a quick look around I found:
1. Carpet not vacuumed
2. Linens not changed (smelled)
3. Road noise, intolerable.
4. No A/C! (thought there was...)
5. Washing machine smells rotten. This will definitely wash your clothes UNCLEANED!
6. Dead insects in the kitchen drawers... (don't wanna mention but)
7. Parking - Need to go down to B3... Might need some driving skills.

Above all, the receptionist was so kind enough to let me get out of there for free of charge. I told her every fragment of what I experienced and precise reasons.

After all, I checked in to a very clean+accommodating inn located in Greenlane (stayed here once before, and this inn is IMMACULATE and offers more than what we pay for it. Spacious, free parking, recently renovated so to me this seems like a 4 star hotel inside with a king-bed ,40 inch tv, functional kitchenette, amenities excellent with natural soaps - manuka based! etc...)

Feeling really at home, secure and cosy.

Hope my comment helps.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokohamaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This suited our needs and was VERY baby friendly (we have an 11 month old). When we checked in, the service that we received was FANTASTIC, but when we went downstairs on the other days there was a different person there and they could not even direct us to the road we needed locally! The location is easy to find, but you do have to walk a few blocks to get to any restaurants etc., The apartments we had were very clean, but maybe a little tired looking is the best way to describe them. Very functional apartments. Our apartment was on the main road and it was hot when we were there, so we had to have the windows open which meant that the road noise woke us up in the morning. But when the windows were closed the road noise did not disturb us. No AC, just a fan. Overall, very good, but not 100% about the location, it is not in the heart of things, you would need to walk 2 to 3 blocks to get there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aadavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Well equipped nice aparthotel with great views of the bridge.

Only downside was after my 27 hour flight, they could find a room for me at 10am, but they let me leave my bag whilst I went out and had (a lot of) coffee.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 67 in Auckland
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Auckland

Property: Apollo Hotel Auckland
Address: 90-92 Nelson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Auckland is situated in Auckland CBD, with in walking distance of city’s most iconic attractions, including sky tower and Queen St and with the short stroll to the Viaduct Harbour and Auckland’s stunning waterfront with an array of restaurants and bars. Apollo Hotel Auckland is Centrally located on Nelson St and Nicolas St, hotel contain 9 levels consisting of deluxe, one and two bedroom apartments, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Apollo Hotel Auckland offers good transport links to and from the Auckland Airport. All the rooms are 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with shower over bath and the flat screen TV, DVD player and Sky guest select Channels are one of the standard feature. A continental breakfast is offered on request. The hotel offers on-site parking (surcharge) and FREE Wifi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Apollo Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing