We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”
Review of Quest Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quest Parnell
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We rented a studio for three nights and were very pleased. The apartment was a great value for the money. The kitchenette had everything one would need to prepare a meal. There was also a washer and dryer in the room. The location is quite central. The bus to the ferry terminal and Central Business District stops very close to the hotel.

There is covered parking for an extra fee but one can choose to park on the streets overnight. Parking is not plentiful on the street but is available, especially after 5 p.m.

There is a two-lane outdoor lap pool which we put to good use. The gym has only a couple of stationary bikes and a treadmill. No resistance or weight equipment.

The only issue we had was that we arrived around 2:00 am due to a late flight. We retrieved the keys and the welcome letter from the lock box with no problem. However, probably because we were tired, we didn't find our assigned parking spot. That led us to taking the elevator for the office building next door. Unfortunately, once we realized our mistake, we found that we could not get back to the parking lot because the door through which we entered got auto-locked. Anyway, after some effort, we exited at the street level and re-entered the apartment building through the main door.

The following morning, I noticed that the elevator entrance from the parking lot to the apartments is clearly marked. We just did not see it. Perhaps there could be a sign on the other elevator entrance stating that the Quest Parnell entrance was on the other side.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    90
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
65
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We arrived mid-morning on a Sunday after connecting travel. We did not expect our room to be ready and although it was not, our luggage was held for us at reception. Upon our return, the luggage had been delivered to our room which we accessed by secure elevator. I had mentioned our need to do laundry and extra powder sachets had been left. We needed a taxi for an early start the following morning & it was arranged that afternoon.Big congrats to Jacqui for anticipating our needs and following through!
The room was spacious & clean, with a large bathroom which included a washing machine & dryer. We had access to a small but adequate gym and a refreshing lap pool with pool towels provided. The location is close to cosmopolitan Parnell Rd with loads of eateries but is insulated well from the noise & bustle.
All in all a great start to our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I cannot thank the Manager Paul Baker enough for his understanding of the situation that my family found themselves in when not being able to go ahead with there much anticipated holiday in Auckland and needing to cancel the booking. Paul was extremely sincere and helped to alleviate more stress on the family. Would definitely recommend for any future stays

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian and Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here our first 2 nights in Auckland. The websites vary on the parking - it is not free as some say - the hotel website does say they charge - and in fact they do. IT is $15 a night - it is secure, underground with key card entry. Everything at the hotel is key card entry, a nice secure feeling. The room was clean with a nice kitchenette. I was specifically looking for a pool to swim in - and this hotel has that! It is a cool pool too - suspended put from the second floor. Walking into the city to the Quay or the Sky Tower is doable - but not super close and not flat. We utilized the laundry in the room which is a great addition. Over all an enjoyable stay - Lizzie at the front desk was very personable on check in and check out. She showed us around the property when we got there. And the area around the hotel is quaint with cafe's around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Well appointed and well furnished apartment; quiet too for a central apartment. Great location, easy walk into city centre and harbour and plenty of restaurants just around the corner. Friendly, helpful staff - great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essextraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back to Europe after handing back the campervan. Staff are great, friendly and helpful. The apartments are spacious, well equipped, and well maintained. We'd stay here again next time we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Theses apartments are nicely appointed and spacious with all the facilities to make your stay easy, including a full kitchen and washing machine and dryer ( so useful if travelling with children) and cable tv. The bathrooms were clean but probably due for renovation. The gym is small but functional and there is also a lap pool. The staff were very obliging and assisted with every request. The rooms were serviced most days during our stay. Wi-fi is very expensive however many of the restaurants and cafés on Parnell rd have free wi-fi.

The area of Parnell is a great part of Auckland. There are a number of good restaurants and cafés nearby as well as a small green grocer and a mini-market. Don't miss Burgerfuel and the Windsor Castle is a great pub.

There is a taxi rank outside the apartments and a bus stop around the corner for the Link Bus that will take you to most parts of central Auckland. If you are travelling back to AKL by taxi, it is worth asking reception to book it for you. The fare was $35 cash which was considerably less than the $80 we paid for a taxi from the airport to the Quest. I have stayed here on three previous occasions and would definitely stay here again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katedonnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Parnell

Property: Quest Parnell
Address: 8 Heather Street | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Parnell. Quest Parnell Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of the historical inner city suburb of Parnell in Auckland, New Zealand with a focus on quality and comfortable living. Quest Parnell offers Studios, One and Two bedroom (two bathroom) apartments with all the facilities you are ever likely to need, including an on-site gym and heated lap pool. This contemporary style complex is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers seeking secure serviced accommodation in the prestigious Parnell area. Our two-bedroom apartments comfortably accommodate families of up to five people. Quest Parnell is situated in Heather Street, adjacent to many of Auckland 's finest restaurants, retail shops, historical landmarks and popular attractions including the unique Parnell Village. Vector Arena, Auckland Domain, War Memorial Museum, University, Auckland Hospital, Viaduct Harbour, Broadway shopping centre in Newmarket, Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World, Beautiful City Beaches are all only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quest Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Parnell Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing