We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value - great service and location”
Review of Quest Ponsonby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Ponsonby
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good value - great service and location”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were 5 people in a suite of 2 rooms and a living room. One room was a bit tight with no drawers (only hanging space) and no TV (the kids room had that!) but the living space and the bathroom were speacious, very clean and well equipped. Service was exceptional: we had encountered an issue with their Internet provider (our mistake), and they did their utmost to solve it. Location in Ponsonby is great near shops and restaurants. A very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    31
    14
    24
See reviews for
15
29
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Quest Ponsonby is a good location if heading in from the airport and don't want to get caught up in the city traffic hussle and bussle. The reception hours are restrictive so make sure you get there in time, or make other arrangements. Parking is very limited so let them know well beforehand. Close to restaurants and cafes for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I have stayed here (& the new Market property) a few times, Location great ,Studios are "OK", Air Con hasn't worked on a couple of stays. Showing signs of age/neglect (My room had a soap/shampoo holder in the shower completely broken) Staff make a lot of noise in the hall ways, and I even had to step over one sitting on the floor when I left my room! Lifts have cheap laminated signs everywhere re parking rules, reception hours, restaurant signs etc, just needs some TLC and it could be great as price is good for the location Although, the New Market property is more expensive and higher star rating but the Posonby property could learn a few thing from the New Market operator.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The location is great for this property - on Ponsonby Rd, a short walk in one direction to the shopping and cafe district, or the other to K Road. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic but functional and everything was clean.
We arranged for an 11.30am check out and had housekeeping at the door at 11.00am, but other than that, fine for somewhere to crash for a night or two if you aren't after a luxurious pad. Well priced for the product.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I thought it was great value, great location, clean and quiet. We paid $135 for a studio and i was very pleased to find that it had a washer and dryer and they even provide a small carton of fresh milk in the fridge to go with the complimentary tea.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cochineal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We booked the Quest Ponsonby directly through their website. We stayed at the begining of our recent stay to NZ and then at the end of our stay. They offer great weekend rates. We paid $115 per night (Saturday and Sunday nights). However, this hotel is mainly used for business customers so their rates considerable increase during the week.

The first room we got must have been the executive studio as there was a washing machine and dryer and a basic ktichen area. The second time we stayed there were no laundry facilities.

Ponsonby is a great area. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and bars. It takes around 30 minutes to walk into the city. There is a great bus service called the Link ($1.80-from memory) it goes to the city, viaduct, Parnell, New Market and K Road.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed twice at the Quest, for five nights followed by a shorter stay of two nights in another room a short time later. We had a one bedroom apartment each time. Both had attractive contemporary decor, and were very clean and neat. Housekeeping services were very good. Even the room on Ponsonby Rd was quieter than I had thought, and we liked the view across Western Park to the Skytower, lit in red and green for the holidays. I was surprised by other less glowing reviews from an earlier time - either the Quest had addressed those concerns or we had an entirely different experience. The staff were particularly courteous and helpful. For its great service and its very convenient location, we give the Quest a very big thumbs up.

  • Liked — contemporary, clean and neat
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nativekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#42 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#48 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Ponsonby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Ponsonby

Property: Quest Ponsonby
Address: 68 Ponsonby Road | North Island, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Ponsonby 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Ponsonby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Ponsonby Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Ponsonby Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing