We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious”
Review of Quest Ponsonby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Ponsonby
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Team meeting and we booked double rooms - one for the girls and one for the boys. They were huge.
Both the boys and girls had two units each. The middle area, with doors opening into a shared kitchen/lounge area. Was spacious, clean and enjoyed. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria99z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and were not very impressed. We were let down from the start by this hotel.

When we arrived on a Sunday night the front door was closed and locked and no staff were at the front desk. We had to buzz a certain number and then wait for someone to buzz us in after waiting a few minuted outside with our bags. There was an envelope with our name on it and a key to our room but no one to discuss anything with. Okay thats weird but whatever... We then got to our room, which was quite average and much smaller than it looked in the photos online. Again a little disappointed. We then turn on the A/C and head into the shower. The shower fan doesn't work (no biggie) so the room steams up. Then I wanted to use the WiFi that was listed as a service of the hotel but there was no instructions to I called “0” on the phone hoping someone would be there. There was and they explained to logon to the internet and a page would appear where we could enter our cc# for internet access. So I tried that and it came up with an error message and didn't work. We informed the front desk (via phone) that it didn't work and they say they are experiencing problems with their Wifi and should have it fixed in a few days; so we are out of luck. Luckily I was able to connect to the city Wifi on the street from the room but i assume many others in the hotel could not do that. It turns out that the city charged less than half what the hotel did. The city was $7 for 3-days and the hotel was $15 for three days. Thats ridiculous! Then sitting at a table using the city internet I look down to see a dirty Q-Tip on the floor. You know the thing used for cleaning wax out of your ears. Yuck. So the room was obviously not cleaned very well. Its about this time that I felt the the A/C was too cold so I went to change the temp and discovered that the thermostat in the A/C didn't work. So we either had to turn it on and let it blow cold air or turn it off and let it get hot in the room. So every few hours you had to turn it on and then turn it off and then turn it on again to maintain a comfortable temperature. At this point I am getting upset. The next day there was someone at the front desk and we told them of the issues. They said they would send someone up to the room while we were out to fix the issues. When we got back the Q-Tip was gone but the A/C and Fan and internet still didn't work. I asked them and they said that the A/C settings were changed now and it should work. But it didn't work. Finally I spoke to a staff member that said there is a problem with the system that they know about but do not want the guests to know about and “don't tell anyone i told you”. In other words I cant fix it and it wont be fixed because they know about the problem but choose not to fix it for whatever reason.
We then discussed leaving and finding another hotel as we were totally disappointed with this one. And this was not a cheap hotel. If I got this experience at a cheap hotel then I would say thats what you get for the money, but for the money we were spending i expected things to work! Someone at the front desk said that would speak to the owner about some sort of compensation for all the problems we had when he got in. I thought that was fair and looked forward to hearing from them. On the last day we spoke to the owner/manager as he was not in until then and told him of the situation. No one had spoken to him he said and so we had to explain it all again. He said that his guests are the most important thing and that they treat their guests like gold. But that there was nothing he could do. The internet was now working he said and it shouldn't be a problem in the future. I was leaving the next day so I was more concerned with what had already happened that what would happen after I left. He kept saying that guests were very important but that there was nothing he could do. English was not his first language obviously so there was a bit of a communication issue. In the end I told him that I wanted a discount of some kind as the stay was terrible and many things did not work. He finally said that he would let us have our parking for free. That was worth about 10% of the hotel costs.

The location was close to many restaurants which was nice but that was the only good thing. Also you should have a very small car if you want to park underground in their parking area as it is TINY. Very hard to squeeze in anywhere or turn around with a mid size car.

In the end I was very disappointed in the hotel where we paid close to $500NZ for 3 nights and it was not clean and many things didn't work. We feel that we had to fight with the manager to get any compensation. He said that the guest is very important but didn't do anything really to show that.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone based on my experience.

Room Tip: Tiny underground parking, beware if not in a compact car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Spent one night here for a business related trip. There were four people in our group and we got an interconnecting room. One room had a 1 bedroom suite with a lounge,dining table and full kitchen facility. There was also a big bathroom too. On the other side of the room was a studio type room with its own mini kitchen and bathroom. It was very adequate for our group. It was a comfortable stay and I was very impressed as I have not stayed at a Quest hotel this was a great first experience as the room was clean and tidy also decorated very nicely. The bed was comfortable and the TV reception was good. We had 2 flat screen TVs.

On the downside our view wasn't that great. Not the fault of the hotels but there was a huge hole in the ground, it looked like a development was incomplete and left like that. Didn't look all that appealing to look at. On the upside though this complex is close to may eateries and shops. It was a less than 5 min walk to where our group were working which was good as we did not have a car.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to those who want a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank prinzess26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the serviced apartments. Very good size and all the facilities. Huge bed and you could have a party in the bathroom. They charge extra for parking and internet. The internet fare is obscene, this s the main negative point. Apart from that everything else was good. Rooms facing Ponsonby road are noisy.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Nimonemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Well located in Ponsonby with good access to the city and motorways; good quality no frills accommodation. Good carpark. One of my favourite ethnic restaurants is only a few steps away and there is some quirky shopping also within a minutes walk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edson1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend while in AKL for a 40th. The room was clean, tidy and functional, but small. The 3 is not because it was bad, it was just not memorable. We got in late and left early, but I am not sure I would have wanted to spend any time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a generic Quest hotel in 'trendy' Ponsonby. Maybe a bit too close to the 'K road' as our two nights were disturbed by noisy guests.
Charging for internet access and local free numbers was unnecessary.
As an overseas visitor, next time I visit Auckland I would stay in the city rather than suburbs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#47 of 65 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#26 of 65 in Auckland Central
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 65 in Auckland Central
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Ponsonby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Ponsonby

Address: 68 Ponsonby Road | North Island, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Ponsonby 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Ponsonby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Ponsonby Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Ponsonby Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing