We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING”
Review of Quest Ponsonby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Ponsonby
Ranked #58 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although they advertise wifi internet on their website, it is only available during office hours - not what you expect, when you arrive in the evening and need to use your computer. This needs to be clearly stated on their website. The secure parking, again advertised on their website, has a charge which we where only told about on departure.
The room was very average and tired - our stay was very disappointing. We should have read Trip Advisor prior to booking.
Mr F. Meyer, Adelaide

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked a double apartment and spoke to the owner. We specifically booked a double apartment for a family with a queen bed in one room and two singles in the other. He told us to then go online and confirm which I did. When we arrived, the dingy apartment had large beds in both rooms and totally unsuitable for our family two kids (a boy and a girl) and was nothing like what the owner described to us. The person on reception was totally unhelpful and said nothing could be done. We left and had to find suitable accommodation elsewhere. Amazingly, they debited my credit card with $500 which I will reject.
Inspect rooms before you stay here so you won't be a victim of these dishonest people.

Room Tip: INSPECT FIRST, otherwise you will be ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

i wish i had read the reviews posted before i stayed at Quest Ponsonby. The room was DIRTY, carpet grubby, bathroon dirty and the shower drain smelt like sewage!! The most gross thing about the whole experience was the bed had not been changed and i discovered BLOOD in it, When I checked out ,the receptionist claimed to know nothing about my complaints and insisted i pay the full price. She discussed the my concerns with her boss in HINDI... is that customer service, I dont think so!! told me the cleaner was going to be fired...surely Quest is going to get a bad name when they sell to overseas owners who have no basic standards. Yuck thats all I have to say about the place and their staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrea481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Well seeing the other reviews it is obvious that this hotel doesn't care at all about its customers. WE entered our apartment, that we had booked for 2 nights, and it was not cleaned. Gum on the coffee table, toothpaste on the door and sink and a stained (I will not take my shoes off) carpet. We notified the front desk and they sent up someone but when I tried to cancel the second night they asked why. Most hotels give a 24 hour cancellation, these guys it was 48. I wonder why?
For $14 more per night we went to a 5* downtown, not internet charges, a newspaper and many other amenities.

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at these apartments for 2 nights and while the room (2 bed apt) itself was fine and the location very convenient, the complex was extremely noisy. Guests repeatedly running around in the hallways, and screaming out in the central courtyard at 2-3am told us there was clearly no on-site management or security to keep on top of these kinds of issues. Totally unsatisfactory when you are travelling as a family and paying for a decent night's sleep. Location is great, with lots of restaurants and a great view towards the city, but I recommend you consider elsewhere in Ponsonby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank customerservicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I booked three people into this hotel for business purposes.
The cost of internet was not at all reasonable - $60 per day for our colleagues to just do basic emails for a few hours.
They are not at all willing to be even friendly about trying to help the situation.
We had to cancel the bookings and we couldn't get any refunds as the terms are 48 hours.
It's never good to be stuck in a below average hotel.
We will never use or recommend this hotel again.

We spent 1 night in this hotel before cancelling the following 3 nights - 2 of which were not refunded due to a notice period of 48 hours - even though we were already in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Two nights here during the England cricket tour in March, so first off it was too far from the stadium but that's my fault. We chose to stay in Ponsonby because it has a great reputation for nightlife. True enough, it's got good restaurants/bars but book to avoid disappointment! However, having also had a night on the waterfront in downtown we much preferred that so when we return we'll avoid Ponsonby.
The apartment itself is just average, can't really say more than that. It didn't really inspire us in any way, big enough and useful washing facilities were the pluses, poor balcony view and small kitchenette the minuses.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank karlosfandango79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#45 of 65 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 65 in Auckland Central
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amora Hotel Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland
#26 of 65 in Auckland Central
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#25 of 65 in Auckland Central
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Ponsonby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Ponsonby

Address: 68 Ponsonby Road | North Island, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Ponsonby 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Ponsonby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Ponsonby Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Ponsonby Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing