We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Ponsonby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Ponsonby
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Perfect Location... Quite and Tidy rooms..Great Restaurants. in the Area., came to stay with my Family and we all enjoyed it ! Affordable and Convenient! Wifi was available 24/7 and they have a self service wifi kiosk which means my children never had a minute without Wifi ! Would definitely love to come back here .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drishti C, Owner at Quest Ponsonby, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and providing your encouraging feedback. We truly value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with Quest Ponsonby.

We always strive to go the extra mile to provide the best stay for our all our guests.

We wish to welcome you soon during your next stay with Quest Ponsonby.

Warmest Regards,
Drishti Chopra | Director | Quest Ponsonby
drishtichopra@questponsonby.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    31
    13
    20
See reviews for
15
27
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I shouted my parents a night in this hotel as a treat as they were coming up to Auckland for my company dinner. I left my credit card number in case of "incidentals", and was surprised to be contacted the day they left by the hotel saying some water had flooded from the shower to the room and made the carpet wet. They said they would charge a night's accommodation and a cleaning fee. Given that the hotel wasn't even full I said charging a night's accommodation was excessive. I asked them to send me the bill for any cleaning incurred and I would pay it. Instead they deducted $100 from my visa card, while saying they had managed to dry the carpet using in house cleaning. My parents had actually advised them there was some water spillage when they checked out at 9am, and offered to mop it up if they were given some towels with which to do so. The hotel said not to worry about it, but they didn't go to fix it till 12:30pm, by which time they said it was too late to dry it before check in. I don't object to them covering their costs, but making money from it and losing future clients over a triviality seems wrong. The water only spilled in the first place as my mother put a towel on the shower floor as it was very slippery and my father could have slipped and had a nasty accident. The hotel added insult to injury by suggesting my parents had stolen a pink cushion that they said had gone missing. I am disputing the charges and would warn off all travellers from staying at this hotel - absolutely not worth it.

Room Tip: Tiny rooms. Better value and more professional service to be found in the CBD for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drishti C, Owner at Quest Ponsonby, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to provide us your feedback. I am sorry to see that you have had to go through this. I have had a look at your correspondence with the staff concerned and I believe the issue had been resolved soon after and you were happy to pay the damages that were incurred on the day.

Your feedback helps us to improve and deliver better. I look forward to welcoming you back, hoping to change your experience during your next stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
Drishti Chopra | Director | Quest Ponsonby
drishtichopra@questponsonby.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The plus side: The location was great, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The negative side(s): The 'studio serviced apartment' is really just a mediocre hotel room with a microwave and a sink. The bedspread had stains on it. The shower head leaked. The bathroom fan wasn't working. The tap in the sink was loose. The internet was a total rip off - $15 and it ran out after about an hour! Everything cost extra - it felt like Ibis or some budget chain. I definitely would not recommend this place - the location is good, but I would just stay in the CBD next time - it's not that far from CBD anyway.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasHauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island, NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I don't lightly give a one star review, but our experience with Quest Ponsonby was so poor I can't help but make a clarion call to other travelers. Yes, it's located well in the heart of Ponsonby. Yes, our one bedroom unit was spacious and, initially at least, seemed well equipped. But here are the problems. (1) We paid $175 a night on wotif, not a fortune, but hardly a snip. For this we would expect daily cleaning and refreshed loo paper and towels without having to notify reception by 4pm the previous day. This is lazy, bad service more suited to a hostel and hostel prices. New morning, no loo paper, angry astonished guest! (2) Cleanliness is an issue throughout this hotel. It all needs a jolly good clean: the paintwork, the skirting boards, the halls, the carpets. This is just a basic. (3) Service. We had booked a second room for a colleague from Wellington whose flight was cancelled due to fog. As soon as we learned about this, we contacted the hotel and asked if we could transfer the booking to another date. Sometimes s*&% happens and this was the first time a hotel point blank refused to move a booking (even within the 24 hour cancellation policy) with genuine cause. The hotel business is all about repeat business and word of mouth referrals. Needless to say, we'd put up with the cramped garage access and high charges for parking if the hotel was clean and provided great service ... but, that not being the case, our charity won't be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: For service, kindness, and cleanliness ... stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment and it was just the right size. We we looking for cooking and washing facilities for a one week stay in a central location and this fitted the bill. We travelled on business with the family. The apartments are right on a shopping and restaurant strip opposite a park. We had a room at the back of the building which was very quiet, even for a light sleeper like me. Despite all the bad reviews I had read prior to arriving, service was friendly. The only downside was a few things were falling apart inside the rooms (soap rack in shower, towel hook on bathroom door), however the rooms were still very clean and spacious enough. Internet was expensive, however I had no problem connecting this outside hours as there is a self service terminal to pay for this which is available 24 hours. If you don't want lot pay high prices for the Internet, free Internet is available on Ponsonby road 100 metres away and in most cafes and restaurants in the area.
Staff were helpful in facilitating several deliveries and collections of items while we were in Auckland, so we experienced no problems with customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yYobiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although they advertise wifi internet on their website, it is only available during office hours - not what you expect, when you arrive in the evening and need to use your computer. This needs to be clearly stated on their website. The secure parking, again advertised on their website, has a charge which we where only told about on departure.
The room was very average and tired - our stay was very disappointing. We should have read Trip Advisor prior to booking.
Mr F. Meyer, Adelaide

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
362 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked a double apartment and spoke to the owner. We specifically booked a double apartment for a family with a queen bed in one room and two singles in the other. He told us to then go online and confirm which I did. When we arrived, the dingy apartment had large beds in both rooms and totally unsuitable for our family two kids (a boy and a girl) and was nothing like what the owner described to us. The person on reception was totally unhelpful and said nothing could be done. We left and had to find suitable accommodation elsewhere. Amazingly, they debited my credit card with $500 which I will reject.
Inspect rooms before you stay here so you won't be a victim of these dishonest people.

Room Tip: INSPECT FIRST, otherwise you will be ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#42 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Ponsonby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Ponsonby

Property: Quest Ponsonby
Address: 68 Ponsonby Road | North Island, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Ponsonby 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quest Ponsonby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Ponsonby Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Ponsonby Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing