We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended”
Review of Parnell City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parnell City Lodge
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
hamilton
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“not recommended”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

When we tried to check in there was no one at the desk and had to wait 30 minutes - no apology. We had booked a room with two single beds and were given one with a double - not suitable for 2 females. He begrudgingly put in a makeshift single bed, did not supply milk or soap and was unfriendly. The place is tired looking, peeling paint on the steps, rubbish outside and needs a good clean up. The best feature is its location - right in Parnell and there is parking. However I would never stay there again. The owner needs to learn some people skills.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    5
    8
    40
See reviews for
16
15
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Small rooms, scruffy, dark, old and lacking cleanliness - don't stay here! From the outside it is obvious the place is in disrepair and the inside is even worse. Echo the comments of a previous reviewer who mentions how good the photos look. A major disappointment coupled with terrible service. You can get much better value for your money with the accommodation choices on offer in Auckland. I picked this for its location - and wished I hadn't.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

What a major let down this was. Had booked here as looked great on the internet/website but shocked when i discovered that the picture that we had seen (only the old edwardian house on the website and decent rooms) was not what we got but a dirty two room on the top floor of a concrete block addition that wasn't mentioned in the website. The description for our apartment was - "These contemporary apartments all offer a living room with a functional and comfortable double wall bed and a well equipped kitchen, separate bedroom with queen or two single beds and private bathroom. All rooms have their own balconies. Maximum occupancy 4 people." Well equipped kitchen - had to ask for tea towel, dish cloth, not enough spoons for 4 people; not enough towels supplied (4 people and 3 towels supplied originally); previous occupants stuff in cupboards and on balcony. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 671RachH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

It was our first visit to New Zealand. We had read so much about the friendly Kiwis. How delighted we were when we were greeted most warmly by Peter, the owner of this cosy place. My daughters, especially, loved the soft and warm beds. Well, that was our first stay. After a fantastic tour south, we returned to this place again. And, this time, it was even better. We were thrilled to hear that we were upgraded to a beautiful Edwardian apartment without extra charge. This place was so amazingly convenient; with the link bus stop just a min's walk away, Pandoro Panetteria Bakery and a 'convenient grocery' shop right across the street. Auckland Museum was within walking distance too. My family of 5 adults and a toddler actually took a relaxed stroll there.
Though the building is slightly run-down, the new owners, Peter and Mei Ling, are doing a great job in refurbishing it. However, what matters most to us was the warmth and friendliness we experienced here. We'll certainly come back again!

Room Tip: Request for Room 12A or 12B. They're delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed here a few years ago for 2 months. My most recent stay saw a change of owners. The new owner is great, really made us feel welcome and you could tell he wanted you to enjoy your stay. Great wireless internet, good kitchen and little balcony. Nothing flash but it has what you need. I would recommend. Great location, where it is you can walk to either the City or Newmarket for a bit of shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebe_ferens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The room was adequately furnished. But it was too noisy and we couldn't sleep well, as we could hear the sound of people walking upstairs or next door, the sound of water tap. The service was not as friendly as I expected.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rufinapragono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My boyfriend, brother, sister and myself spent one night at the Parnell City Motor Lodge. We found the Edwardian apartment very spacious and well eqipped also. Our beds were comfortable and the room was well cleaned. I thought the price was very reasonable for 4 of us and the location was perfect for the arena which was where we were going. The only bad thing I could say was that the room upstairs was very easy to hear, as we heard chairs scraping on the floor. But all up, the Parnell City Motor Lodge was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#48 of 67 in Auckland
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parnell City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell City Lodge

Property: Parnell City Lodge
Address: 400 Parnell Road, Auckland, New Zealand (Formerly Parnell Village Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parnell City Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland’s No 1 location-in the heart of historical and trendy Parnell. Stroll to 70 restaurants and cafes, boutiques, galleries, museum, 5 minutes to the city centre and in fact just a few minutes from everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parnell City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnell City Hotel Auckland Central
Parnell City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing