We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A++ for awesome stay and cheap room rates and internet”
Review of Parnell City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parnell City Lodge
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I live in Wellington and was up in Auckland visiting family and needed to get away fro a night or two if you know what I mean.... Was keen to shop Parnell so whilst in the village I came across two similar priced and looking short stays and settled on Parnell City Lodge. Awesome rates, great hosts and to top it off I didn't get ripped off like most other places for using the internet which was fast and easy access.
would definitely stay again, being a female am fussy on bathroom and hygiene and was nicely surprised. Also had bed turned down and linen replaced next day. All good.

Room Tip: Good people watching from front road facing rooms...he he
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We just moved back from Christchurch and needed a short term option on a fully furnished apartment close to town and by pure accident came across this on the way to dinner in Parnell.

Great hosts, clean rooms and cheap as chips for what you get. Top of Parnell so real close to all the fancy restaurant's and pubs.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get best room which is above the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was the grottiest place I've seen in a long time. Filthy sheets and pillowcases. Filthy towels. Flannel had big brown marks on it. Yuk !! The floor had not been vacuumed and I'm assuming not a lot of other cleaning went on either. The owner was very creepy, leering at my teenage daughter, even touching her as he left the room after one of our complaints. Yuk !! My daughter and I went to our concert at Vector ( we only booked here 'cos it was handy) but on our return decided to drive 3 hours to our home rather than actually sleeping the night in that grot. Not only did we not know what we would be sleeping in, we didn't feel safe with the type of person running it.
I do not recommend this place AT ALL !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I believe the hotel has new owners, anyway I found it reasonable. It was in a perfect location to access bus transport to the city. The eateries close by were good, especially the "Coffee Club" restaurant, wonderful fish and chips. Easy to go to Newmarket shopping centre or to the railway.
The hotel was adequate, but it did lack in several areas, but this could be related to the type of room that we booked. The bathroom was tiny, shower small but good stream of water. The biggest problem was the HAND BASIN - tiny, and the silly shelf was placed above the basin so that when you washed your face or cleaned your teeth, you had to move your head sideways to avoid crashing into the shelf. There were no shelves or drawers, nowhere to place your suitcase. The lamp and lampshade took up all the room on the little side table that there was little room for anything else. Plenty of plates, cutlery, microwave, iron and kettle.
A reasonable stay for a short time.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors probably have more space, ask to see your room first if you plan to stay long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I wish I had read reviews before booking. This place was dirty. Furniture was old & tatty. Towels & sheets were stained & thin and as for the bathroom I don't know when it was last cleaned.There wasn't even any soap.The website doesn't represent the place at all. I was totally disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have stayed at parnell lodge for 3 years and have had nothing but the best service. The location is perfect. And the price reflects all this. The current owners are trying very hard fix all the imperfections that they inherited and have made alot of progress. Bottom line a great place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasminlee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This place is terrible! Owner is rude, one of the rudest people I've ever met. Rooms are dusty, smelly, dirty sheets and not at all what you would picture from the outside.
I asked for a refund and it was like getting blood out of a stone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tgagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#44 of 66 in Auckland Central
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#45 of 66 in Auckland Central
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 66 in Auckland Central
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parnell City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell City Lodge

Address: 400 Parnell Road, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand (Formerly Parnell Village Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parnell City Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland’s No 1 location-in the heart of historical and trendy Parnell. Stroll to 70 restaurants and cafes, boutiques, galleries, museum, 5 minutes to the city centre and in fact just a few minutes from everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parnell City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnell City Hotel Auckland Central
Parnell City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing