We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the balcony and handy location - lots of parks and trees nearby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parnell City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parnell City Lodge
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the balcony and handy location - lots of parks and trees nearby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

It was great to find an apartment style suite in Parnell where i had a nice private balcony. Often easier catching the bus into the city, Link bus stops accross the road, no parking tickets that way. Love waking up here and having breakfast looking out on the balcony, looking out over mature trees, would have had nice views over rangitoto once, but the trees now block them . I also like the fact it is close to the Parnell cafes, Auckland Domain, and of course Pandoro bakery just accross the road for real coffee...mmmm nice food (if you dont mind paying the prices). Excellent service and handy location.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzmusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    5
    7
    39
See reviews for
16
13
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

We had booked into the Parnell City Lodge for one night. I booked the room on the phone and spoke to Carl, at the time he seemed pleasant enough although not overly helpful.

Due to unfortunate circumstances we had to postpone our trip to Auckland so I rang the motel one week before our scheduled arrival and spoke to a man (who I assume was Carl? I'm not sure because he just grunted in lieu of saying hello). I explained our circumstances and all he grunted in response was "yeah". He hadn't asked my name so I gave my information anyway (not sure how he was going to know which booking to cancel if I didn't!). He still didn't respond to me at all, so I was beginning to think he had misunderstood me so I asked if everything was OK? He just grunted again "yeah" and hung up on me! Not giving me a chance to arrange another time to re-book!

You won't believe how glad I am that our trip was postponed! Needless to say we've re-booked with another hotel The Quest on Carlaw.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

We booked a week at Parnell City Lodge after being let down with accommodation we had already booked elsewhere in Auckland. The owner Carl was very friendly and accommodating from the original exchange of emails through to dealing with any requests we had when we arrived. We had a lovely room on the upper floor with free wireless internet connection (which was invaluable as my friend and I are travelling for 2 years and so this facility is very helpful for forward planning!) Our room was very bright, clean, serviced daily and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed it so much that after a brief week away in the Bay of Islands we needed to return to Auckland and had no hesitation in booking again for a further 4 days. We are even thinking of returning yet again for a few days towards the end of our 6 months in New Zealand! The location is perfect! Only minutes walk from shops, restaurants, cafes, and as a previous reviewer mentioned, you really can get everything you need in Parnell! We love Parnell - it's a classy suburb and is THE place to be in Auckland! We particularly recommend the Chocolate Boutique for a sweet treat!! We thought Parnell City Lodge was extremely good value for money and would definitely recommend it to other travellers like ourselves. It makes a great base for exploring Auckland itself. And the Link bus stops virtually outside the door! If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Auckland that's great value for money, excellent service and a fantastic location then look no further - stay at Parnell City Lodge!

  • Liked — Location & friendly service from the owners
  • Disliked — The fact that Carl has not yet opened other motels throughout New Zealand which would make our search for affordable accommodation much easier!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank theKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

After spending a few years living in Auckland it was time to move on. Having sold my house and about to relocate to Melbourne I needed somewhere to stay on the occassions I would be in Auckland finalising my affairs. I had always loved Parnell and noticed the Parnell Village Motor Lodge primarily because of its fantastic location opposite the Cathedral and at the top of Parnell Road...plus it was undergoing a stunning new paint job. I booked myself and my daughter in - she for a month and me for a few days. Having sold my car was not a worry as everything you need is in Parnell and for those things you can't find the Link bus stops at the door. We had room number 9 - a one bedroom suite with kitchen facilities and a stunning view of Mechanics Bay from the Balcony. The fold down murphy bed was perfect as an extra double - folding away during the day.

The new owners Carl and Helen go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are gradually upgrading all the rooms. I had a great few days here - enjoying all the restaurants, spa's and even the duelling grand Piano's across the road at the Ivory Lounge! I can highly recommend this lodge and look forward to staying there again when I am next in Auckland

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — No can opener in the kitchenette! should have asked...
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

Excellent location, shame about the room. The room had a pull out double bed and a single bed squashed in to a tiny area with a 2 seater couch and that was it. No wardrobe, no where to put your gear in the bathroom, no table... It was clean though and $90 was a good price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of facilities
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunedintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#59 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#42 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parnell City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parnell City Lodge

Property: Parnell City Lodge
Address: 400 Parnell Road, Auckland, New Zealand (Formerly Parnell Village Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parnell City Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland’s No 1 location-in the heart of historical and trendy Parnell. Stroll to 70 restaurants and cafes, boutiques, galleries, museum, 5 minutes to the city centre and in fact just a few minutes from everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Parnell City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnell City Hotel Auckland Central
Parnell City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing