We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby yes chic no!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elliott St Apartments Hotel
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Family suite small basic, and not terribly clean, extra bed was a fold up in the kitchen! however it is central and its easy to walk around auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Enjoyed stay, friendly staff. Big room good amenities. Close to everything, waterfront a short walk. Would return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Although the rooms have been modernised this hotel still exudes the charm of yesteryear.
Our apartment was quite large and well presented. i would recommend you book the executive suite as some of the cheaper rooms are on the wrong side of the building, they have no view and the smell from the nearby food court wafts up from the exhaust fans.
the current hotel manager is Ganesh. he's the hardest working man in the business and will go out of his way to ensure you have a nice stay.
TV is older and the chanels dont match with the guide (so what, whos watching TV?)
The wifi signal ($8 per day) wasnt strong enough to use in my room.

my wife and i both thought this hotel represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: book an executive suite or request an apartment facing Wellesley street to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the world cup and the prices had been doubled so value for money was not good at this time. Lovely big apartments with lots of character although a bit shabby. Good kitchen facilities and comfortable bed. The apartments felt cosy and comfortable. On the down side, the safe failed to work and I got stuck in the old tired lift. Overall it was a well positioned hotel with lots of pubs and restaurants near by, however the nearest supermarket was 30-40min walk away which for a self catering apartment was not ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed for two nights, Saturday and Sunday.
No problems with check-in, staff were polite and friendly.
The old style of the building was nice, interesting art on the hall walls.
T.V was a little old and hard to know which channel was which.
Kitchen and laundry facilities were impressive, even though we did not cook or clean. They would definitely come in handy for an extended stay. Bedroom decor was nice, but a little dark since the windows had been painted over. Since the building is a little old, the sound from the street at night was a little annoying, but overall not too bad.

Would stay again, especially for an extended stay in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Think "19th century fully furnished single apartment", right in the heart of Auckland and walking distance to everything. The rooms are *huge* with ridiculously high ceilings (14 foot?!). They have in-room kitchenettes that are fully furnished, so you could eat in every meal. There's no bathtub, but the bathrooms are quite fine. You won't find your standard hotel accommodations, like fitness rooms, in-hotel restaurants, concierge service, etc. But this really is an outstanding hotel for location, space and value. And if you don't want to cook in the room, you won't go hungry. There are tons of great restaurants everywhere.

And, you're one block away from Giapo's!!

When I go to new cities, I usually want to get out of the hotel as much as absolutely possible. I can't remember the last time I was on a trip, where I looked forward to coming back to my room as much as I did here at the Elliott. If I ever get the chance to come back to Auckland (and I hope I do), I won't even think of staying anywhere else. If I did, I'm sure I'd be disappointed.

I loved staying here so much, that I really didn't want to go home ...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here during the Rugby World Cup 2011, and this seemed to be the only hotel left available that had not hiked it's prices up ridiculously!.
It is an absolutely beautiful old building, done up very nicely, and the "Executive Studio" we stayed in was wonderful. It contained a king sized bed, two seater couch & TV, small dining table and chairs, plus desk and chair. The kitchen area had everything one would want, and there was a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom.
It was large, spacious, beautifully decorated, with full maid service every day.
Perfect location, right downtown on Elliott St, just a few steps down the hill to Queen St, bus stops, etc. And less than that to cafes, bars, shops, etc. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the university, 10 mins to the waterfront, 5 mins to the sky tower.
Very happy with our stay, not a single complaint, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
0 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott St Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott St Apartments Hotel

Address: 15-31 Wellesley St W | Cnr. Elliott Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elliott St Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott St Apartments Auckland
Hotel Elliott St Apartments
Elliott St Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing