We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Elliott St Apartments Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elliott St Apartments Hotel
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Taranaki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Congratulations on such a fantastic Hotel so close the main street. We booked two apartments and was pleasantly surprised with how warm and cosy they were. Very little road noise, fabulously comfortable beds and rooms very clean. We are two couples in our late 40s and would definately stay there again. Found the hotel on wotif website and couldnt believe how close to civic theatre, and perfect for catching the bus to Eden Park for All Blacks game. The hotel was very reasonably priced. Loved The Stables, again will be back, so central to everything we wanted to do. Very relaxing, nice to have opening windows and feel a breeze coming in. Infact the only negative comment may have been that it was a little warm in the room. Cant say enough about this hotel.

  • Liked — Convienence to Main shopping area and transport
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ruby2Taranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
15
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
honiara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Good building, great location, nice rooms, decent service, good rates.

My only concern was that a '2br' place sounds as thought its going to be a bit bigger than this suite actually was.

Highly recommended for short stays or people with no kids who are just using it to sleep.

We found it a bit tight with 2 kids for a 6 night stay. Then again, it was much cheaper than other 2br apartment places we looked at, so I guess that''s the trade-off.

  • Liked — The building, and Elliot St itself.
  • Disliked — Flat a bit more cramped than we expected.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deepsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

I was surprised to read other reviews of this place as we thought it was one of the best of our trip to NZ. The room (which i don't think was one of the deluxe ones) had a great living area/kitchenette and, after spending hours in other places searching for laundrettes, we loved having a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. We also found the reception staff very helpful, they even negotiated a discounted taxi to the airport for us.

  • Liked — The room and its furnishings/amenities
  • Disliked — There didn't seem to be a way to stop the floor getting soaked when you shower.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Booked a studio apartment through wotif, where they were advertising 'executive' apartments which I couldn't find anywhere on the hotel website. They do exist though and we had a large, nicely furnished, well equipped room with small kitchenette, laundry facilities in the bathroom and kingsize bed. Unfortunately the room suffered from a constant 24 hour hum from the service and ventilation ducts outside - our view looked directly out on to the car park and kitchen area for the nearby businesses. We asked to move and were shown some much smaller, bleaker studios (obviously their studios as advertised on their website) which we declined as the hum didn't seem noticeably less and the rooms were, frankly, depressing and, we were told, the same price. We put up with our room as we had paid for 3 nights in advance, the major drawback to booking through a discount website, otherwise I would only have stayed 1 night. A lovely building and a great concept, but badly executed.

  • Liked — furnishings
  • Disliked — the constant hum from the ventilation unit
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndigoViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is the worst hotel my wife and I have experienced in many years of travelling.

The best parts are the central location and the hotel website. After that, it all disappears downhill.

The front-office staff seemed inadequately trained, defensive and belligerent.

I really don't know how they have the audacity to have the word "Hotel" in their name, but they do. For example, you can't dial up for a sandwich (there is no hotel restaurant), and everything seems to be done by some external company (like the exorbitant parking). We felt ripped off by the externally-supplied internet 'service' which charges on a megabyte basis, and despite being careful not to run up excess-use charges (which requires constant monitoring) they still managed to separate us from the best part of $100 for a two-day stay. Unbelievable.

The one-bedroom studio was cramped, noisy and uncomfortable. We could hear every shower, every flush from the adjacent rooms, and the traffic noise was just awful. A waste pipe from the room above, which comes through the bathroom ceiling before disappearing into a wall, dripped on us every time the occupant used the shower or basin it was attached to (we hoped it was just a shower or a basin).

I optimistically opened the front door in the morning, vainly hoping to see a newspaper (you know, like you do in hotels). There wasn't one - you had to collect it from reception - after paying for it of course.

And don't bring your DVDs to watch - unless you want to pay for the hire of a machine.

The double bedroom was a small, uninviting, dark internal room, and the bed was like sleeping on a brick.

The only thing I don't understand is, how do they get away with it?

  • Liked — The central location.
  • Disliked — The poor facilities and soundproofing.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7november2007
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

it is a very nice building, the hotel made a mistake but promptly compensate for providing the wrong room type.

my room was a beautiful executive studio room, both deco and space, especially for the price (I booked via wotif); also have kitchen and laundry in room.

the lobby is upstair without lift, but you will not have to walk pass reception everytime entering or exiting the building. the building is central and next to skycity and convention centre, with taxi rank outside.

Overall, professional staff and very accommodating, definitely recommended

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 7november2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

These self catering apartments were within a stone's throw of the Sky Tower so could not be more central. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, living area and a bathroom with washing machine and dryer. It was extremely clean and well fuirnished. There was no view as we overlooked a busy street but it was surprisingly quiet at night. Plenty of facilities were nearby including food shops, excellent restaurants and a handy off licence opposite!! Staff were knowledgeable and helped us arrange bus pick up for the airport. Altogether a very convenient place to stay. (shame about the earthquake which we experienced one evening!!)

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — central position
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#48 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.8 mi away
Quest Parnell
Quest Parnell
#24 of 67 in Auckland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elliott St Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elliott St Apartments Hotel

Property: Elliott St Apartments Hotel
Address: Cnr Wellesley & Elliott Streets | PO Box 5701, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elliott St Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott St Apartments Auckland
Hotel Elliott St Apartments
Elliott St Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing