We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, spacious rooms with good amenities, value for money, included continental breakfast & serviced room.”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Very good service, included in rate is a continental breakfast supplied, room is also serviced. Limited undergound parking if requested at a minimal cost. Has two separate bedrooms, kitchen with dishwasher, oven & microwave. All rooms were a good size, bathroom included washing machine/dryer. Gives you the option to do your own cooking and washing if you choose, centrally located , close to restaurants and mini market, also New World supermarket not that far away with a free bus which goes straight pass the door. Great improvement with the dark blind covering opaque window between bedrooms. Would prefer the option of having twin beds in one room if possible instead of both rooms having queen beds, especially when we have business collegues with us, bit awkward for them to share a bed together.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAl256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

Would absolutely stay here again! Loved having the 2 bedrooms, washing machine and dryer was so handy as was the computer/internet available for use in the foyer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Hi Kathryn

Thank your for your kind review of our property. We pride ourselves on doing the little things right, this includes pricing, cleanliness, free breakfast and the best in-room facilities possible to make stays like yours great.

We are literally a home away from home and I am glad you thought so as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The hotel is in a great location in the city centre within walking distance of everything.
The room was well maintained and I thought the hotel provided excellent value for money. I would stay here again any time

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My fiancée and I stayed at the Auckland City Oaks for two nights in a two bedroom apartment. It was more than enough room for the two of us. We were lucky to be on the top floor with the most amazing view of the Sky Tower from our bedroom window and balcony.

The apartment was very clean and had a great kitchen with a large fridge, microwave, oven and draw dishwasher. There was also a clothes washer / dryer in the bathroom which was very useful after coming from Rotorua and having sulfur smelling clothes!

Its a 5 minute walk down to Sky Tower which we did several times and another 5 to 10 minutes down to the quay. There are lots of great places to grab some food around the Sky Tower and we recommend Raviz Indian which we went to after seeing the menu in the compendium.

Our room came with continental breakfasts, which were more than enough to keep us going for the day with 2 slices of bread each, butter, jam, cereal and juice.

Parking needs to be booked and is $20 per day.

Recommend for a city stop over or longer stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Hi Michelle

Thank you for your great review of our property, your photos look great of the Sky Tower. It really does look great at night doesn't it all lit up like that.

I am glad you found the room to be very clean, we have been working very hard with our house keeping department to have our rooms to a level where we can say we are as good as any 5 star Hotel in Auckland in terms of cleanliness.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you well on your onward journey from Auckland.

Take care

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The City Oaks is definitely not a 4 star hotel.It is more a 3 star property.There is no lobby practically.The service is what makes a hotel a 4 star or 5 star but there is a complete absence of service.
We had booked on their website a Hell's package which is supposedly a Dinner package.They provide an outdated voucher just a Pizza-if you are 4 people well you better go hungry!The girl on the reception(Jenny) said you can treat it as a snack,and the moment I questioned her-there was complete lack of civility.I returned the voucher and asked her to check and revert.Another person Riza called me and said he will make an exception-by providing an additional voucher-when I collected ,he just passed one and he said you have collected the other earlier and I said No-which was again not appreciated-definitely not the way to treat a guest.
The two bedded apartment is very compact-on the plus side has a washer and dryer.Toiletries are very limited.Breakfast is touted as a continental breakfast-two slices of bread per apartment which for 4 people becomes limited,juice,slice of raisin bread, little amount of cornflakes.
The location is fantastic-close to the skytower,and next to a Police station which makes the streets see safe.
Check in and Check out is smooth.
While the apartment is ok for families with small kids,it will be a strain for 4 adults.
The Hotel would have been ok if not touted as a 4 star property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeMahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Dear Mahesh

Thank you for your review on our property, I appreciate the feedback as well as the correspondence back and forth via email.

As adjudged by Qualmark New Zealand we are a 4.5 star serviced apartment hotel. This is different from a Hotel and we advertise no differently.

I am glad you enjoyed our central location and the safety of the property being adjacent to the Auckland Police Station.

Further a comment if I may, the 'Hell of a Deal' package that was chosen by your family has 1 large pizza as an inclusion in the rate advertised. It is clearly marked on our website that it is for a free large hell pizza. We will have the wording amended to avoid any confusion in the future and appreciate your feedback on this, I apologise for any confusion.

As you can see by our many positive feedbacks, service is something we absolutely pride ourselves on. I will take this matter to our front desk team and remind them how important it is to provide the same level of service to every guest.

I hope to see you back at our property at some stage in the future, if not I wish you well and safe travels back to Singapore.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

City Oaks is great family accommodation with clean, tidy, well maintained facilities in a location that makes getting round Auckland and into/ out of the city easy. Having breakfast included is an excellent bonus. Would have been perfect if the second bedroom had had two singles instead of one double bed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

My husband & I were here 4 nights; provided early check-in on our arrival day; stored luggage; good location. Room was perfect - great kitchen unit, with W/D; provided extra towels as needed; staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank janeCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £77 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing