We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but small and photos are definitely work of trick photography”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The pictures and website of this hotel indicated that it was a comfortable, lovely 4 star self contained apartment hotel. However the reality is that the rooms are very small, the cleanliness is average and the included breakfast is very limited. An example is that in a family 2 bedroom apartment there is only 2 queen beds (which can't be split to singles) and there are only 2 chairs provided at the table (not sure where other 2 people are supposed to eat). The kitchenette is very small and in reality was not suitable for anything other than boiling rice or re-heating something. It was difficult conditions for a family with children, with the place saved only by relatively cheap rates.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Guest,

I am glad you have taken the time to write a review about our property, all Feedback is useful to certain people. Just a comment I would like to make, our 2 bedroom apartments are photographed exactly how they are in reality, further users of Trip Advisor have posted further photos on this website that are off our building with no bias from our side. Our 2 bedroom apartments have a full kitchen with an oven, stove and dishwasher that prove useful to most people while on holiday. If you are next ever with us (which I hope you are), we are introducing a new and 100% improved complimentary breakfast which all travelers will be able to enjoy from 1 May 2011.

Take care and safe travels.

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed a few times at property when under previous management. Present management has done an even better job, eg new flat screen TV, complimentary continental breakfast, more friendly staff, free internet access in lobby. Great location for us non-drivers - close to free city bus, free bus to Fish Market, Intercity bus terminal and Queen Street. Love the kitchen as we could cook meals using fresh NZ produce. Good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkonger82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We think the Auckland City Oaks was great value for money. We travelled with our teenage son and it was great to have two bedrooms. The location is excellent, even though it is a walk up the hill from the harbour. A few people complained about being near the City Mission in previous Trip Advisor entries, but seriously, it is harmless and the people are just there for a feed. You don't have to walk past it either if you don't want, just go down the next street instead.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the kitchen is well equipped, despite the lack of a saucepan big enough to cook some pasta! The bathroom was clean and well ventilated. Our only complaint was that the breakfast is pretty ordinary - stale cereal every morning, with a few zip lock bags of bread to cook in the toaster. The bread was fine, as was the supply of jams and juice, but that cereal is rotten! Bring your own.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyadventure101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

There's five in our family, so we always struggle for good value accomodation and mostly we end up getting two hotels rooms at excessive cost or a box standard motel. Visited twice and whilst the in room breakfast could be considered a bit small for some they'll just provide more if you ask. Car park is $20 a day which is the added cost to your room rate however still great value, ideally placed and pleasent staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Traveler,

Thanks for your email and positive feedback about your stay at our property.

One small thing I would like to add to your review is that our complimentary breakfast as of 1 May is completely revamping to a new and improved selection which I think will be very much to your liking.

I hope to see you back in the near future and thank you for your kind review.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Auckland City Oaks in March. I made the mistake of booking it through Hotelclub - booked 4 months in advance, paid at the time of booking, and when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that booking has never come through, and even though they really wanted us to stay, the hotel was fully booked.

Following was an hour and a half of two of their staff trying to contact Hotelclub to get us to be transferred to another hotel. They were put on hold numerous times and then cut off, but they persisted. Hotelclub has been absolutely shocking - not only did they never follow up with us and the hotel itself about this booking, they were not helpful over the phone. Luckily the staff at Auckland City Oaks had been so helpful and patient, for my little boy they even got him some juice. In the end, one person rang to cancel their booking, and we got to stay at this hotel after all. 2 hours later, but nonetheless.

The room itself was a bit small, but it was clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly the whole time - I am really impressed with how they treat customers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2011

Dear Traveler,

I am really glad to see that our staff were helpful and friendly and made the best of a bad situation.

We are currently in the process of updating our rooms and hope that your next stay can be 5/5 with us.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We booked the hotel based on our passed experience with Oaks in Brisbane, the photos on their web-site also look great, but when we got there, we stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment, the rooms are extremely small. We have to keep our suit cases in the corner of the living room.
the hotel located just 15 mins walk from the wharf but it's kind of at the "not so nice" side of the town. If you are on a budget and only use the room as your base then its good value.
the service is very good, staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamperaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, as we should, we think the most important part of any business is how our customers are treated. We take immense pride in reviews like yours and I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community.

Take care, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed here from 15th-17th of April. Was slightly disappointed at size of 2 bedroom apartment as pictures were very deceiving. However, for $135 for a two bedroom room, I would not find better at this price. Room was clean, Very well equipped, with nice T.V, Couch, beds, Microwave, oven etc. Location was good, short walk to queen street, although was a bit further to the viaduct. the breakfast was very good, With milk, juice, Bread, butter, jam and 2 selections of cereal. The doors blocked out the traffic noise out well as you are on a busy street (but as is most of auckland). Room was serviced both days, at no extra charge. Overall i would most definitely recommend this, as it is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alannah135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your email, I appreciate your time and effort in making the review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit and wish you safe travels back home.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing