We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent value for money”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exellent value for money”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Was surprised to find that it was an apartment and not a hotel room - lovely modern room with fantastic facilities (was stoked to be able to wash and dry my clothes in an evening). Breakfast provided was more than enough. Was very pleased to have a sheet over the duvet so you could sit on the bed and not wonder what kind of grime you were touching!!!

Only fault was with the parking - I had to ask how to get into the parking area, how I then got back up, and upon leaving the next day I found myself sitting in the driveway unsure how to get out until I noticed a button on the wall and realised I had to push that. Front desk staff needs to remember to give these instructions.

However, overall a fantastic experience and I would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaleeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    423
    273
    88
    92
See reviews for
322
427
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The room description did not match what were given...no LCD nor Ipod docking. As were sightseeing we overlooked this. 3 phone calls over 2 hours to get coffee sachets that had not been topped up. Room was in need of renovation more than cleaning. How you would clean finger prints off the whole ceiling is another matter. The parking was an issue but was resolved on the second day. Sleep was OK but was interrupted by Fire alarm and evacuation...luckily a false alarm. Security was more intent on chatting up the ladies that were being asked to leave than doing so quickly. Front desk generally helpful. A time limit on the 1 computer would help so that 11/2 hours of occupation by facebook addict gave everyone a chance to use it! 3/5 Potential to be better. We stayed in 25 hotels in our stay and this one is in the bottom quarter.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to hear about your stay at our property, all our rooms should have an LCD TV and Ipod Dock and I am unsure why you were in a room which was not fully equipped. You remarks about slow service have been communicated to our housekeeping team and the importance customer service in any organisation, especially ours. Further, we do have a complimentary computer at reception in which guests are allowed to use the internet - Guest etiquette is out of our control and hope this did not impact your stay to greatly.

Regardless, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Room was very comfortable and clean upon arrival.
However, there was no Dishwasher powder supplied and not detergent to wash dishes.
Day two the dishwasher powder was supplied but no dishcloth, and also the same the next day.
Apart from this slight overlook, we were satisfied with the stay, and will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulachristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed in late April 2011, the hotel was very busy, rented a 2 bedroom unit, the unit was clean, spacious, new, modern, with lots of tables, got full kitchen and all cooking utensils, washing machine, dishwasher was a bonus. location very good, walking distance to city center, Queen street. Parking could be a problem for people with car as it is limited. Do book and confirm your parking when you book a unit. You may need to double park and hand over your keys to the reception as as space is dead tight. Other than that, great hotel/apartment to stay. Very good value for your money!

Room Tip: Do book and CONFIRM your parking when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngreenJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, Yes you are right we are a very busy property and do over 85% occupancy year round - parking is at a premium being in Auckland City and I am glad you have advised others on TripAdvisor on how important it is to pre-book a car park at our property.

Take care and safe travels back.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The room was like a studio apartment with the bedroom area off the lounge/kitchen. The room had everything you could need including all equipment for self catering i.e microwave, oven, dish washer and a washing machine/drier (which was a god send after a month in asia). Continental breakfast was included in the price. Really good value for a two night stay. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hineruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review of your stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay,

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed in the basic room for 2 nights when we arrived in N.Z from G.B. The room was large and had dishwasher,hob,microwave,washing machine,iron and board. The room had large double bed ample wardrobe space. Dinning table and chairs. Also TV and other chairs. The room and bed were very clean . You also got a simple continental breakfast included in the price. This hotel is very good value for the price. As we were returing 4 weeks later we asked if we could leave a large case and the obliged for no extra charge. I would recommened this hotel

Room Tip: check web page
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, I really do appreciate your comments. I am glad that our staff obliged to all your needs and looked after you during your time in Auckland while with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

The pictures and website of this hotel indicated that it was a comfortable, lovely 4 star self contained apartment hotel. However the reality is that the rooms are very small, the cleanliness is average and the included breakfast is very limited. An example is that in a family 2 bedroom apartment there is only 2 queen beds (which can't be split to singles) and there are only 2 chairs provided at the table (not sure where other 2 people are supposed to eat). The kitchenette is very small and in reality was not suitable for anything other than boiling rice or re-heating something. It was difficult conditions for a family with children, with the place saved only by relatively cheap rates.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Dear Guest,

I am glad you have taken the time to write a review about our property, all Feedback is useful to certain people. Just a comment I would like to make, our 2 bedroom apartments are photographed exactly how they are in reality, further users of Trip Advisor have posted further photos on this website that are off our building with no bias from our side. Our 2 bedroom apartments have a full kitchen with an oven, stove and dishwasher that prove useful to most people while on holiday. If you are next ever with us (which I hope you are), we are introducing a new and 100% improved complimentary breakfast which all travelers will be able to enjoy from 1 May 2011.

Take care and safe travels.

Udai Sarin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing