We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 26 June 2011

As an independent business traveller, I'm not looking to be pampered with lots of unnecessary add ons. I just want a functional, clean and quiet room. I also like the option of being self-contained when it comes to eating and laundry. Auckland City Oaks is perfect in these respects. Staff were very efficient and polite, but totally unobtrusive. The fridge, oven, washer/dryer were easy to use and the studio room was so well laid out it felt bigger than some one bedroom apartments I've stayed in. For anyone conferencing in the central city, this is a very handy location, and the in-room amenities would make a longer stay very bearable.

Room Tip: go for floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed five nights and found the room clean and tidy. Also very quiet and spacious with morning sun. Small, but enough in-room breakfast. Generous extra fruit juice given when the standard juice boxes ran out one evening. Five minute walk to conference venue and major attractions in town. Friendly staff. They were happy to keep our suitcases after we checked out before we could connect with our transport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert_Lamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We found on check in the reception was unfriendly but the room was as booked , it did look a bit smaller than expected but contained all features advertised and was well presented . Continental breakfast was provided in room price this represented good value but you must remember the tourist market is very competitive in NZ at the moment so not ultra cheap , the dishwasher/washing machine where appreciated as we stayed for a week and the room was well serviced each day with only a problem with the towels once . Reception service seemed to change with who was on , good one moment to unhelpfull at evening/night , parking was expensive at $20 per night and overly complicated to use . Wifi did not exist which is rare these days , our view from the rear of the building was of a police car park , peacefull room normally but building work was being carried out one night above our room and the gym advertised was in another site . We generally enjoyed our stay found the position good near the casino /CBD/wharfs , we used a free CBD bus at the casino this was great for running around town , the Albion Hotel nearby offered great meals including cooked breakfasts for under $8 and a friendly face .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gertsbigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Due to unfavourable reviews in Trip Advisor I dropped off a few names of upmarket hotels in the Auckland CBD but selected this one because of it's favourable reviews. Not sorry!!
I booked thru an Online agency and got a good price.
Location is okay, reception check-in and parking great, Room a little small but beutifully and comprehensively decorated, furnished and stocked. Value for money this really is the tops.
Internet is available free in the lobby or pay in your room.
Undercover secure Parking was $20 (I hate paying for parking) and only a limited number of bays but otherwise good

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crayfishWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed for 1 night in a 2bedroom Apartment. The rooms were clean and nicely set out with com fortable beds. The staff were very helpfull and friendly throughout our stay and will definately recomend. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArohaRemkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

A good, acceptable property in the CBD. It's on a busy street, but noise is not an issue until 7:00 a.m when work-day traffic begins to stream by. Great to walk into the CBD. Removed from most restaurants; not too far though to a good selection towards the CBD and Sky City.
Breakfasts are continental, placed in your fridge the night before. Good yogurt. Orange juice in a cup. Apples. No toast to use the toaster with. Pre-packaged sweet buns with no butter, margarine or spreads. You have to eat them dry. Would strongly recommend the hotel look at providing jam packets and margarine. Oat bars are good to take along for a snack during the day's hiking. Not necessarily a breakfast item.
If you don't own a laptop, you will have to wait to use the free desktop in the lobby.

Room Tip: Good basic location; higher rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanuckCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We did the park, sleep & breakfast package. Lovely apartment with a good value continental breakfast delivered to the apartment the night before. They also offered 1 hour of internet for free. There was a little traffic noise.

Room Tip: Do a package ie. free car parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £77 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing