We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK location, room could've been cleaned before we got there.”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The reason we stayed here was the price and it looked nice in the online photos.
To be honest I was disappointed with the level of cleanliness of the studio apartment we stayed in. There were CC chips on the arm of the single seat lounge, there was hair on the floor in the bathroom, the soap holder in the shower had been broken off, there was no soap provided, the dividing door between the bed and TV area was broken and didn't close. Shall I continue? We were on the 1st floor, so looked straight into another building. On the roof outside our window there were 2 used condoms that previous guests had thrown outside. The bed was quite comfortable, and it was a 15 minute stroll to the waterfront (albeit past the homeless shelter/mission) which was nice. I can see a lot of positive reviews, so maybe we got stuck with a dud room. It kept the rain off our head though, but it was the worst place we stayed at over two weeks of our honeymoon. Wouldn't recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Staying here for 2 weeks for the RWC. Great location, just up from Sky City and a 5 minute walk down to Aeteoa Square and Queen Street. About a 20 minute walk down to the waterfront, but taxi only about 10 dollars if you're feeling lazy. Yes, the City MIssion is just down the road but can't help feeling that if you've lived in any large city you wouldn't feel remotely intimidated.

Apartment well equipped including dishwasher and washer/dryer, flat screen TV. Serviced daily, all the staff really helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Loved this stay, best apartment stay in our experience by far.
Really central location, very clean apartment, balcony with views over the main road.

The service staff that cleaned and stocked the apartment were really helpful and friendly and always willing to help us with whatever we needed.
Reception staff were very helpful when we needed anything.

Only thing negative I could pull out was, the reception staff need to look up and smile at people as they come in the doors....it's not good to put your head down when people enter the building and not look at them.

The city mission was a little concerning if you're walking alone at night, but the police station is also right next door....so to be honest I wouldnt be walking anywhere alone at night in a strange city anyway!

But all in all it was a really positive experience and very good value for money. Taxi's right to the door and you can get to most places for under $10 around the city and outskirts.

Room Tip: rooms away from main road are quieter, but you get a great view from the main side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in NZ from the UK. The 2 bed apartment we had was fully equipped, clean, comfortable and spacious. The sky tower was less than a 5 minute walk and a Denny's nearby kept the kids happy! If I had to change one thing it would be to have one room with a double bed and another with twin beds. Made good use of the free interent in the lobby area which was useful for checkingour future bookings for our trip

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lady_traveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Auckland City Oaks is located in Auckland City Central. Most attractions could be achieved by foot from the hotel. The only downside is that there are insufficient undercover parking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W LM Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The location is close to CBD, just a few minutes walk to Skycity tower. Just be aware that if you are a female and alone you need to walk past the City Mission (I didn't feel safe, even in the daytime). Apart the close vicinity to the CBD I can't think of any other good points.

Firstly, when you get out of the lift it stinks. A trolley of rubbish left outside the lift made the whole hall smell like vomit and rotting food (which didn't go away!) My room was also dirty and smelly - had to open the window and balcony door to breathe! The walls were covered with scuff marks and unfinished plastering and there were crumbs on the couch.

My room was supposed to be a one bedroom, but it was so cramped it was definitely more a bedsit - I even asked reception whether they gave me the correct room! The "breakfast" was a bit of a joke, with a semi-rotten banana you wouldn't use for baking! I have stayed in other hotels in the CBD which are cheaper, cleaner and better. Try Auckland City Hotel or Bianco off Queen (only few mins walk away and about $40 cheaper).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 255115Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Bug,

Thank you for your review, i appreciate your feedback and hope we can use it to improve as a property.

Please note that the Auckland City Mission is 500 meters up the road from us and we support this Government organisation when we can.

We will review the complimentary continental breakfast after your review and hope you have a safe journey back.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

1 Block from a mission for the homeless is a negative, though it's in a reasonably good location. Staff were pleasant except that they tried to charge us for parking underground for a rental car that we parked out the front. When we had prior agreement with the hotel that were were going to be dropping it off at the hotel prior to the 3pm collection. Yet it sat there for the entire night. This was not our fault.

The room was nice, a little small, and the bathroom was rather dull and lack lusture, overall the location and price was releativley good for Auckland which is a city that enjoys overcharging hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atlancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
961 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing