We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven in Auckland”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little haven in Auckland”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were in Auckland for eight days and we were lucky to have stayed at Auckland City Oaks on Hobson St. Staff at the check in counter was friendly. We had to store our bags with them and went around the city because our room was not ready yet. Not a problem really, we arrived about 10am in the morning! The location is about 10 minutes brief walk to the city centre. It is located in a safe area (next to a police station!) with lots of mini market scattered about nearby and generally quiet. The room we got was compact but comfortable enough for two. We couldn't believe our luck when we found out it was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette and laundry facilities in it. It made the whole trip easier, we made breakfast in the room (complimentary breakfast was a simple continental breakfast in a basket) and even did our laundry. The bathroom was not luxurious but it catered to our needs. Shower head can be quite 'temperamental' at times but nothing we can't deal with. Not much of a view from the window but at least they have windows in the room. Hehe. Bed was nice, tv worked well, a/c unit was not noisy, in short, everything went well than expected. Definitely will be returning here in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midclassvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    425
    275
    90
    92
See reviews for
323
429
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The man on reception at check-in was not pleasant. Also had to pay a $250 bond as we don't own a credit card!!
Free daily continental breakfast consisted of a banana, a juice, a muffin or a bread roll and a fruit yoghurt. All high calorie foods.
Room was spacious and cleaned every day.
The list of things listed as being in the room that weren't, is too long to go into.
The lifts stunk of body odour the whole time.
Location was good, but for the price, will look elsewhere next time.
.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmead, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We visited Auckland during the "ash cloud incident" and got an extended holiday! Score!
We booked through Zuji at Auckland City Oaks. It was very convenient and clean. The free breakfast was just bread roll, oat bars, yoghurt and fruit but we weren't complaining. It was a good experience except for the fact that my family never received the postcards the receptionist had volunteered to post for us before our departure.
I would stay there again though it definitely was good value for money and although they don't have a restaurant there were plenty around within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Auckland City Oaks hotel 1st in January 2012 and again in March 2012 on both occasions we found the hotel to be conveniently located, spotlessly clean and well equipped - as we were touring New Zealand for 6 weeks this made the beginning and end of our holiday a good experience. The staff were helpful (especially in arranging the taxi for our return trip to the airport). We would recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BButler161152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family consisting of 4 adults have just come back from a lovely 3 night stay at the
Auckland City Oaks serviced apartments. We would most certainly book it again. The facilities
were great for what we were looking for. We were pleased with the daily breakfast provided which consisted of a bread roll and butter, banana, pot of yogurt, snack bar and juice. Thought maybe a spread such as jam could be provided as well as the butter as an alternative. Other than that we found it a place with great value for money. Parking is an extra charge and you do sometimes have to park in front of other cars but we didn't find this to be a problem as its nice just to have your rental car kept safe. . We have stayed at several other hotels within the Auckland CBD and have not been as pleasantly surprised. It was in a good location, a few minutes walk to Queen Street. We did a lot of walking and just caught the CIty link bus back to a close bus stop which only cost 50c from downtown. We would highly recommend it as a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasifika4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 bed apartment. The kitchen had a washing/dryer (Useful after travelling the country for 2 weeks!), an oven,microwave,dishwasher 2 burners and a fridge/freezer. The lounge area was very small and narrow but adequate for the 2 of us. The bedroom was smallish but again fine for our needs. The shower was very good. Everything worked here and we were comfortable. We were on the 7th floor and were not bothered by any noise at all due to the double glazing. We had a balcony which was great for fresh air!
A continental breakfast,delivered to our room was included in our package and was ample to start the day. We had 1 hour free internet in our room each day which was fine to check emails.
We paid A$204 for 3 nights and considered this a good deal for what we got. We hardly use hotel facilities at other more expensive places anyway most of the time. The location was quite good but there is some uphill walking to be done to reach the hotel on foot from any direction.
I would stay again for the price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PASTACARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked a 3-night package Ina 2 bed serviced apartment for less than you would book a hotel room in most Auckland hotels. The benefit of a serviced apartment is more space, small kitchen, and laundry facilities. But it is a serviced apartment not a hotel so don't expect a glamorous foyer, concierge, restaurant etc. The apt was clean, modern and although not big, perfectly sized for a couple. We used the 2nd bedroom for just 1 night of the stay with a fellow traveller and this made things a little tight for space as there was only 1 bathroom. So unless it's children that are traveling with you, I would just book it again for a couple (or single) and plan to use just 1 bedroom.

The only real downside for us was the Internet connection. We were staying here on business so needed wifi and our package included free wifi but we had some issues with messages coming up saying that the pool of available connections had been reached which prevented a connection. After talking to the front desk they called the service provider and things were fixed after 10 mins. When it happened again that evening the front desk informed us the service provider wasn't available in the evening. So no Internet until the next day. That's not good enough. A better service provider needs to be found.

There were a couple of other small niggles. It's nice they even give you a basket of items in the evening for the next day's breakfast but it's just needs a tiny bit more thought added! For example one day it was a breadroll with one small butter pack, a juice, piece of fruit and a yogurt and a snack bar. What about 2 butter packs and a jam or some topping for the bread roll? (On 2 of the days it was a muffin). And perhaps something other than a banana every day. But anyway it wasn't too bad considering the price one pays here. Another small niggle was the car park. We had booked a space but it's so tiny you often have to double park and leave your key with reception. It's not a huge drama and I guess the reality of limited parking space in downtown Auckland. The final niggle was the bouncy mattress- they are not exactly the firmest and best quality mattresses you''ll find but they were new and the bedding perfectly good.

I would book this again but would be slightly concerned about the Internet reliability when I'm here on business. But the apt did offer a good sized desk with plenty of power points which made things easy and convenient.

Room Tip: Get a 2 bed apt even if only using 1 room as you should be able to get a deal that's better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing