We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient hotel”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment for 4 nights. The actual room decor was older and less modern than the pictures they show on their website. Nevertheless they have all the basic stuff in the room. I particularly like they provide a washing machine and washing powder in the room which was very convenient indeed. They also have a dish washer with detergent in the room but you don't quite need that because the cleaner would clean up your dirty dishes the next day anyway. Hotel location is good. It's just a 5mins walk to Queen's Street and Countdown supermarket, and a 15mins walk to the harbour. Good that they provide free in-room internet connection.

Room Tip: Bring your own slippers if you need them. The hotel doesn't provide them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights in March 2012 in the 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms were modern, comfortable and clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance of Queen St and SKY City Casino, but was still quiet for a city central area. My only issues with the room were minor - (1) there was no Cable, and NZ TV isn't very good (2) the washer/dryer combo was hard to use, (3) the breakfast was bland, required a bit more variety. Other than those 3 minor issues, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, in the rooms facing the Police Station, so at night there was a bit of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here from a recent trip back to NZ. Central location was excellent.
Was very quiet for a city centre area. Very clean with nice staff.
Good value for this area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street have a good city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The rooms are clean and reasonably-well equipped. Our apartment had a living/dining room, adjoining kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom and W.C. A kettle and tea/coffee supplies are provided along with a microwave and toaster. The kitchen even included a washing machine.

The location is not quite central but it is only a 10-15 min. walk (or 50c bus ride) to reach the waterfront and/or shopping/restaurant area. If you are staying over before going on a cruise, it’s a $12 - $15 cab fare to the cruise ships.

The price is reasonable for Auckland but make sure your rate includes WiFi otherwise it will cost you $15 a day. Breakfast is adequate – juice, muffin, fruit, yogurt and granola bar – and is popped in your ‘fridge the night before.

Now the downside: our room (and presumably many of the others) looked out onto a brick wall. In addition, our room contained an unusual feature in the living room – a 2ft diameter pillar in the middle of the room (see photo). This is obviously an integral part of the structure and presumable features in other rooms as well.

Reception staff were helpful and, although this would not be our first choice in the future (because of the lack of a view and the pillar in the room) we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room without a pillar. Also ask for a room with a view (if they have any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanataMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed one night when we arrived in Auckland - the rooms were clean, tidy and we were grateful to be allowed to check-in early at no extra cost. Having arrived after 22+ hours of flying, we appreciated it was clean, spacious and with a great location within the city centre meaning when we were suffering from fatigue later that day, we had somewhere good to go to get a good sleep and have a nice range of breakfast facilities the next morning. Washing machine was a great bonus too. Didn't award 5 stars as service lacked a personal touch, but was efficient and professional none the less. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get one with all the apartment features - we didn't think we needed a washing machine etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were in Auckland for eight days and we were lucky to have stayed at Auckland City Oaks on Hobson St. Staff at the check in counter was friendly. We had to store our bags with them and went around the city because our room was not ready yet. Not a problem really, we arrived about 10am in the morning! The location is about 10 minutes brief walk to the city centre. It is located in a safe area (next to a police station!) with lots of mini market scattered about nearby and generally quiet. The room we got was compact but comfortable enough for two. We couldn't believe our luck when we found out it was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchenette and laundry facilities in it. It made the whole trip easier, we made breakfast in the room (complimentary breakfast was a simple continental breakfast in a basket) and even did our laundry. The bathroom was not luxurious but it catered to our needs. Shower head can be quite 'temperamental' at times but nothing we can't deal with. Not much of a view from the window but at least they have windows in the room. Hehe. Bed was nice, tv worked well, a/c unit was not noisy, in short, everything went well than expected. Definitely will be returning here in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midclassvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The man on reception at check-in was not pleasant. Also had to pay a $250 bond as we don't own a credit card!!
Free daily continental breakfast consisted of a banana, a juice, a muffin or a bread roll and a fruit yoghurt. All high calorie foods.
Room was spacious and cleaned every day.
The list of things listed as being in the room that weren't, is too long to go into.
The lifts stunk of body odour the whole time.
Location was good, but for the price, will look elsewhere next time.
.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
961 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £81 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing