We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean room”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, clean room”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Oaks for 2 nights and it was the best hotel we stayed in while in New Zealand. The room was a bit small, but it was perfect for our needs. The bed was by far the most comfortable I've had in a hotel in a long time. There was a nice small living room area which was great because we could watch TV without having to lay in bed. The kitchen was also a great feature. We cooked dinner one of the nights and it definitely helped save us money! Another great feature is that they offer a computer in the lobby with free internet. Since free internet can be hard to come by, this was great as it was our only source to communicating with home. I would definitely stay here again if we ever come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    423
    273
    89
    92
See reviews for
322
428
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaufering
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

big apartement; good facilities; windows can be opened;
good service; lot of space;very friendly staff at the reception;short walk into town;breakfast was
a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view on the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Rooms were really nice and well-maintained during our stay. Location is pretty good - within easy walking distance of supermarkets, shops and resturants. Staff at the reception desk were a bit rude on arrival and not very helpful - they did not know where we could catch a bus from. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we had our easter there. hotel in centrally located, staff were brilliant. room was a standard one bedder. we stay on the third floor and didn't hear any outside noise. the place is clean and we would definetly stay again. breakfast is basic but hey at $120 per night for a self contain unit who cares. room was a bargain. only one issue was off street parking, its very limited, and we had to park on Hobson st and surrounding streets. nothing happen to our car but would have been nice to have option to park off street. but we got a park within 300 metres of hotel each day or night without a hassle. cost a few dollars with parking meters thou. give place 9.5 out of 10.
hotel has no restaurant or pool but there are plenty of shops to go buy food , drinks from. all within a 100 metres of hotel. casino is a block away.

Room Tip: we had a third floor room and there was no outside noise to interupt your sleep. thinkiong it the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We found this location so handy for catching a bus to the Speedway GP and for access the beautiful Auckland Harbour. Our room was lovely, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and accommodating.

We felt the price was good for the standard of accommodation but we were disappointed in the breakfast.

The price included a continential breakfast. We expected toast with spreads and cereal. What we got was a muffin, oat bar, banana, yoghurt and popper juice. To us this was not a continential breakfast.

We decided to go out & buy breakfast cereal and milk. We kept what was provided as snacks for later. When we returned for the evening to have the muffin with a cuppa only to discover that no muffins had been left for the next days breakfast.

It appeared that because we hadn't eaten what was left in the morning, we didn't get a replacement. Also the bananas for the next day were green! We did contact reception and they provided the missing breakfast items.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Trixie,

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed the room.

I am disappointed to hear that the complimentary breakfast was not up to your liking. Please note that we have premium coffee and tea along with UHT milk with all rooms as well (complimentary).

I do agree that Milk and Cereal could be a useful additional to our ever popular continental breakfast, something to certainly look into.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Auckland City Oaks between 30th March until 2nd April 2012. We had no idea what to expect as we were in Auckland for the Speedway GP and this hotel was one of the closest. What a lovely surprise. We had room 808 and it was great. Very modern and clean. It had a great shower and heated towel rail, which was lovely in the morning to have a warm towel. The kitchen area was well equipped with a dishwasher and washing machine/clothes dryer. The bed was very comfortable and the living area had a TV and DVD player A table and two chairs and a desk with desk lamp. Wifi was available for free in the lobby and for a small fee in your room. A continental breakfast was delivered every evening for the following morning and consisted of a muffin, muesli bar a small tub of yogurt and a banana. All cooking equipment and crockery was sparkling. Wardrobe space was sufficient and a safe was in the room too. The hotel staff were very friendly and had deals with the taxi company and so got good rates for taxi travel. The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the main shopping area and the docks. It is very close tot he city tower. There is good literature in the lobby of what to do etc. Auckland is very hilly and so take your runners. All in all, this was the best accommodation we had on the North island. Well done and thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The apartment was clean and had everything you need including dishwasher and washing machine. Not keen on the locality in which hotel was based as didn't feel comfortable walking in the area at night. Also found that staff were offhand and unhelpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sairfecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerACO, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Serfecht,

Thank you for your email, I do appreciate the feedback. Your comments about our Front Office have been taken seriously and I will personally ensure that further training is conducted.

However, one thing that amazes me that our location made you feel unsafe? We are located in central Auckland next door to the Central Police station on busy Hobson Street that is well lit at all times of the day.

Thank you and take care.

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing