We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location for an Okay Hotel!”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Central Location for an Okay Hotel!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel rooms were fine and the location was very central. The hotel room and bathroom was clean and well kept. There were a few things that just were not up to snuff - sheets were torn, garbage was not cleared when we arrived. I would stay again but this is not going to be your top end type of hotel if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Gary
Thank you for your good review about our central location and cleanness. There are a couple of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    423
    273
    88
    92
See reviews for
322
427
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in 2 bdrm apt with friends to attend an event at Vector Arena. Only 15min walk to Britomart where we had dinner. Extra 5mins from there to Vector. Very close to Skycity and Aotea Centre. Check in was quick n easy. Parking is avail in basement and is extra $25, however, some carparks are double parks requiring you to hand in your keys which is a little annoying esp if you're paying extra. Apartment was comfortable and relatively clean BUT there was an awful smell permeating throughout the entire floor (2nd floor). Smelled like wet carpet and it got worse, especially in the hallways. Also, after parking up, it took a very long time for the elevator to reach us (with our luggage). It finally arrived, only for us to discover it was full of rubbish and dirty laundry. We then had to wait for the poor guy to unload it all. After that, the elevator stunk of rubbish and we couldn't put our luggage on the floor because rubbish had leaked out. A service elevator should be used for this - especially when there are only 2 elevators servicing the entire building.
Would stay again, hopefully smell and elevator issues wouldn't occur twice!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel_lovin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is relatively modern with good decor. Cleanliness was reasonable but the bathroom needed attention. It is centrally located so most central city attractions and restaurants are within walking distance which saves on driving and parking in Auckland CBD which I find difficult and frustrating at the best of times. The hotel is also well located for access to and from the motorway which does make driving to more distant attractions in Auckland a much simpler and enjoyable task.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuxBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear TuxBuzz
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice hotel to stay at for a short period, would not recommend staying here for a long time unless you have very busy day itineraries planned, as quite small rooms. Good facilities, quite close to everything you need in Auckland. Would stay here again, but only for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Courtzi,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

They provide a very secure and clean place to stay in central Auckland - and include a breakfast delivered to your room each day. We did ask for our room to be serviced which was not done, this may have been missed by the cleaning staff, as when mentioned to the reception they offered to immediately clean the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973JimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Jim
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our staff, hotel and room. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it was just average. The room was moderately sized and we paid to park here only to find that almost everywhere else that offered overnight parking in the city was cheaper.

The room we stayed in included breakfast which was very basic. Location was not too bad though I am not sure I would stay here again when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Lilian
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Why: arrived 24 hours later than planned, due to cancelled flight.
Inflexible management refusing to reschedule our stay for one night, forcing us to pay a second night. This, only due to the cancellation policy.
We could inform them only 16 hours before instead of 24 hours. Even, they weren't willing to take into account the official letter of the airlines company.
Really bureaucratic. On top of the studio was ice cold. Warming up the studio before your customers are coming, it's a simple gesture.
Once, but for sure not twice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Sylvie
We are sorry to hear your experience due to your flight has been cancelled on the arrival date. Please understand due to our 24 hours cancellation policy we were not able to make any change by receive a cancellation notice on the same day. You may claim your compensation from the airlines or your travel insurance.
We do have air conditioning/ heat bump in all apartments, we did not turn it on before guest arrival because we are not sure if all guests are happy to enter a warm room when summer is on the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing