We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Auckland City oaks”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Auckland City oaks”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hi there my partner an I stayed at the Auckland oaks last night I was really looking forward to our stay there in till Not long into staying there. Our TV had no sky channels I was charged 25 for parking but when I got there an read threw manual an it said 20 and vallet parking but there was none of that. Also I asked about late check out an I was told till 1 65 dollars but in the book it stated 3 pm for 65 dollars then my duvet was full of black curly hair when I opened it up to put it on the bed. Then on websites the rooms looked so much bigger an I get a extuetive sweat an it shows views an what not. I get put in a corner on bottom floor were I can not see anything nice. There was a already used soap left out to. So am not happy at all really and I told the staff as I left an they did not say sorry nothing

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be better. i thought getting the room we did we would be in a better place than l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Blondie318
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback, i will pass on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    423
    273
    89
    92
See reviews for
322
428
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in a two bedroom apartment. It as perfect for my purposes of attending a conference at Rendezvous. Easy walk to anywhere in CBD. Comfortable and clean. Pleasant staff.
Good kitchen facility. Enjoyed breakfast being delivered each evening, a bonus I hadn't expected.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a balcony & afternoon sun. Back rooms have morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Fay
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great service, Great location. I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Overall a disappointing stay with the Oaks. We were checked into a small studio room. The room was "well worn", and it didn't look like the carpets had been vacuumed and had plenty of stains. We asked for the carpets to be cleaned on our way out of the hotel the next morning - they were vacuumed upon return, but with the condition of the carpets we were still far from comfortable walking around without shoes.

Also on our second day I noticed on our booking confirmation that it stated we had a one bedroom apartment with a balcony (we were put in a studio with no balcony). When I brought this to the attention of reception, they explained there was no 1 bedroom apartments available. It took several minutes to explain to them this wasn't acceptable, and that I had booked a 1 bedroom apartment with balcony, so either they needed to provide me with some type of refund for compensation of receiving a lesser value room, or give us an upgrade. After about 5 minutes of complaining they eventually offered us a two bedroom apartment for the last two nights of our stay.

The "upgraded" two bedroom apartment did give us a lot more room, however, the overall condition of the room was still very "well worn". We have had good luck with other Oaks hotels in the past, however, our experience with the Auckland City Oaks was disappointing, and I would not stay here again nor recommend it to others.

As a few others have mentioned:
-The free breakfast is basic. We new this going in - but you will definitely be sick of the same muffin, granola bar, banana day after day.
-The internet was a joke, in both rooms. We had a strong signal at all times, yet the speed made it un-usable. We made reception aware of this issue, but nothing every improved.
-Location was pretty good, 5-15 minute walk to the restaurants/shops/dock.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Devan
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed at the Oaks for 17 days in a 1 bedroom classic. I really enjoyed my stay, and the unit itself was perfect for me. I was on the 5th floor with my room facing Hobson St. The décor was nice, and I had no issues with cleanliness; my room was serviced daily. My only minor issue I had was with the wifi. It wasn't too good, but that really wasn't a big deal because they had a internet kiosk on the ground floor. The hotel is very centrally located with the Countdown supermarket and the Sky Tower only a 10 minute walk away; a walk to the harbor took me, at most, 20 minutes. All in all, my stay here was a great one, and I wouldn't have any hesitation to book another room at the Oaks; I did get my money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Kuuper
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience for your long stay. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel rooms were fine and the location was very central. The hotel room and bathroom was clean and well kept. There were a few things that just were not up to snuff - sheets were torn, garbage was not cleared when we arrived. I would stay again but this is not going to be your top end type of hotel if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Gary
Thank you for your good review about our central location and cleanness. There are a couple of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in 2 bdrm apt with friends to attend an event at Vector Arena. Only 15min walk to Britomart where we had dinner. Extra 5mins from there to Vector. Very close to Skycity and Aotea Centre. Check in was quick n easy. Parking is avail in basement and is extra $25, however, some carparks are double parks requiring you to hand in your keys which is a little annoying esp if you're paying extra. Apartment was comfortable and relatively clean BUT there was an awful smell permeating throughout the entire floor (2nd floor). Smelled like wet carpet and it got worse, especially in the hallways. Also, after parking up, it took a very long time for the elevator to reach us (with our luggage). It finally arrived, only for us to discover it was full of rubbish and dirty laundry. We then had to wait for the poor guy to unload it all. After that, the elevator stunk of rubbish and we couldn't put our luggage on the floor because rubbish had leaked out. A service elevator should be used for this - especially when there are only 2 elevators servicing the entire building.
Would stay again, hopefully smell and elevator issues wouldn't occur twice!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travel_lovin_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is relatively modern with good decor. Cleanliness was reasonable but the bathroom needed attention. It is centrally located so most central city attractions and restaurants are within walking distance which saves on driving and parking in Auckland CBD which I find difficult and frustrating at the best of times. The hotel is also well located for access to and from the motorway which does make driving to more distant attractions in Auckland a much simpler and enjoyable task.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuxBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear TuxBuzz
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing