We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VR Auckland City
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$133
US$129
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$202
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$184
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$290
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$229
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveller rating
248
443
298
108
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
443
298
108
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesky towerhobson streettwo bedroom apartmentcomplimentary breakfastself containedqueen streetauckland citycooking facilitiesfull kitchenoakswasherkitchenetteovenharbourstovelaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well maintained and surprisingly quiet apartments.

Location was useful for entertainment on K'Road, but not very good for transit.

In-room information guide seems a little out of date and I was next to impossible to figure out what TV channel I was on. My fare included 'lite continental breakfast' - don't expect much from this - it was a breakfast/oat bar, sweetened yoghurt, piece of fruit, and cake.

Despite this it fulfilled its function as a comfortable place to stay and two quiet night's rest at a pretty good price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winter_limelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just a few blocks up from the iconic Sky Tower this apartment style hotel is easy to find. The rooms are well equipped with a oven, washing machine and microwave. There is no need for a car and parking is expensive, $25NZ per night. The area immediately around the hotel is a little run down with an overnight shelter/mission in the next block, but the area feels perfectly safe. There are mini supermarkets near by and the harbour area is 10 minutes walk. This is not a luxury hotel but a well priced base in an excellent location. Having said that Auckland itself is an underwhelming city, for me the reason to visit NZ is the fantastic scenery, so spend as little time in the cities as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest
It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After a long car ride straight from wellington at 9.00pm the last thing we wanted was being unable to find a place to stay. After a pleasant stay in 2010 we thought we'd give this place another go.. Immediately we were given a room at a super competitive price considering it was just after christmas in the cbd. We wanted a carpark but they were all full - An SUV with a roofbox on the street wasn't the best idea. The girl at reception was accommodating and willingly managed to give us a carpark at the usual rate of $25. But as said before, we had a roofbox which just exceeded their underground carpark height limit of 2.1m. The second we were set to get out of the car to take it off the girl from reception happily allowed us to park at the front carparks which were 10 minute parks for guests. Free Wifi is also offered here so my mobile data is saved (unlike now sitting in a taupo motel chewing up data cap up).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88Ge0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear 88Ge0ff
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. I have passed your kind comments on to the team regarding their service so thank you for sharing this with us. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just as the title says, this hotel had everything we needed for our 3 nights' stay. Location is great, walking distance to Queen street area and public transport options including the airport express bus. The room was clean, well equipped with… kitchen appliances, even a washing machine. Free wifi connection was provided to ensure communication with those we had to leave home:) The suplied continental breakfast is very basic, but there are numerous options nearby including restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tnorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear tnorby
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience and happy to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

good location within city. close to most of public transport. rooms were well services with all necessary things........ enjoyed my stay with family.Room clean also bathroom large. light breakfast was also provided.

Room Tip: corner suits are larger and more quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Atif S
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews