We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All conveniences”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
“All conveniences”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great little apartment for short stays with everything you could want for comfort and convenience. Good view over the city and harbour. Very noisy traffic though until late evenings if you opened the door or window for fresh air. Breakfast provisions were good but unusual, though not my preference for breakfast they were great snacks throughout the day! Quite handy location and easy enough to find.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kate
I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    425
    275
    90
    92
See reviews for
323
429
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is basic, clean and well serviced. It is centrally located in the hear of Auckland city and within easy walking distance to all the major attractions including the beautiful wharf area. Highly recommend for a family looking for affordable, clean, comfortable accommodation in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Vanessa
It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City.
It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the City Oaks before embarking on a cruise out of Auckland. Have to agree with the comments of the last two reviewers, very comfortable, quiet accommodation, but in a slightly run down area. We never seemed to get into travelling by bus and walked down past the Sky Tower to the city centre and the harbour area (about 10 minutes). The complimentary breakfast was OK, we just ate the fruit and yoghurt, but not the cellophane wrapped cakes and it was handy to have tea, milk and coffee before we went out for breakfast. There aren't many cafes nearby, but did find a great cafe serving breakfast, lunch and dinner on Federal Street just below the Sky Tower, The Federal Deli. The rooms were comfortable and large, with sofa and armchairs and the reception staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, always giving us useful information. There was free wifi in the building and we would certainly stay again if we return to Auckland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear SheffieldPip
We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! and thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our friendly and helpful staff. I am so proud of our team and how they continue to perform to a high service level. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well maintained and surprisingly quiet apartments.

Location was useful for entertainment on K'Road, but not very good for transit.

In-room information guide seems a little out of date and I was next to impossible to figure out what TV channel I was on. My fare included 'lite continental breakfast' - don't expect much from this - it was a breakfast/oat bar, sweetened yoghurt, piece of fruit, and cake.

Despite this it fulfilled its function as a comfortable place to stay and two quiet night's rest at a pretty good price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winter_limelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just a few blocks up from the iconic Sky Tower this apartment style hotel is easy to find. The rooms are well equipped with a oven, washing machine and microwave. There is no need for a car and parking is expensive, $25NZ per night. The area immediately around the hotel is a little run down with an overnight shelter/mission in the next block, but the area feels perfectly safe. There are mini supermarkets near by and the harbour area is 10 minutes walk. This is not a luxury hotel but a well priced base in an excellent location. Having said that Auckland itself is an underwhelming city, for me the reason to visit NZ is the fantastic scenery, so spend as little time in the cities as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank researcher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest
It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback, it will assist us in improving our services for future guests. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After a long car ride straight from wellington at 9.00pm the last thing we wanted was being unable to find a place to stay. After a pleasant stay in 2010 we thought we'd give this place another go.. Immediately we were given a room at a super competitive price considering it was just after christmas in the cbd. We wanted a carpark but they were all full - An SUV with a roofbox on the street wasn't the best idea. The girl at reception was accommodating and willingly managed to give us a carpark at the usual rate of $25. But as said before, we had a roofbox which just exceeded their underground carpark height limit of 2.1m. The second we were set to get out of the car to take it off the girl from reception happily allowed us to park at the front carparks which were 10 minute parks for guests. Free Wifi is also offered here so my mobile data is saved (unlike now sitting in a taupo motel chewing up data cap up).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 88Ge0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear 88Ge0ff
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. I have passed your kind comments on to the team regarding their service so thank you for sharing this with us. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just as the title says, this hotel had everything we needed for our 3 nights' stay. Location is great, walking distance to Queen street area and public transport options including the airport express bus. The room was clean, well equipped with… kitchen appliances, even a washing machine. Free wifi connection was provided to ensure communication with those we had to leave home:) The suplied continental breakfast is very basic, but there are numerous options nearby including restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear tnorby
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience and happy to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing