We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 13 February 2014

These apartments are basic but clean and well located with kitchen facilities, and free WiFi. The location is just off the free way and easy walking into the CBD or K Road. Parking costs extra and you need to get a pass first to use the downstairs parking - so check-in first if driving. Service was adequate and staff friendly. Breakfast provided was sweet juice, a piece of cake and a banana. Rooms are on the small size but adequate for one.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hula-girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our great location and good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

The place is small, but well-stocked. The stove, oven and dishwasher are one unit. So are the washer-dryer. Refrigerator is about 4 feet tall with a freezer. There is a microwave. A shortcoming is there is only one wardrobe for clothing. The useable balcony is a nice touch. They advertise free wifi. It is, but the amount is limited, which they don't tell you. We keep having to go get a new password as the one you get is only good for one gigabyte of data. The staff are very friendly. Easy to walk to everything downtown. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cflum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Cflum
We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Loved this place primarily for its location - right next to the sky tower and at the heart of Auckland Central. The room is cozy and comfortable with all the basic facilities in place. Can't fault it - delivers it value proposition in terms of value for the service apartment.
A couple of caveats - 1) Parking can be a problem on weekdays. Might have to reserve in advance. On weekends, free street parking is available. 2) Breakfast is a cold breakfast delivered the previous evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neehu-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Neehu
It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback and your kind comment for other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Booked here for three nights before a cruise. Rooms large and airy with all facilities you could need. Friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to all suitable for families as apartment had two bedrooms and a separate living room / kitchen

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank schoolhousehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear schoolhousehelen
We are so appreciative of all your positive comments and feel very humbled that you would recommend our hotel to others – Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The view from the room was FANTASTIC! The room was modern, clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable and our room had plenty of balconies to look over Auckland City and the harbour.
It was close to restaurants and shopping.
The only down fall would be the parking. It was very tight and unless you have a very compact car, it does become a bit of a nightmare trying to park and get get out of the parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falutui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Falutui
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, especially for your kind comments on our hotel, room and cleanness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am very pleased with my 3 night stay at Auckland City Oaks. Exactly the same following breakfast was delivered for the duration of stay:
1. A banana
2. A small yogurt
3. A small granola bar (Mother Earth's Baked OATY SLICES"
4. A piece of cake
5. A small Juice

I appreciate your "continental breakfast" and I would like to make a suggestion to the manager. Please introduce some variety so it doesn't feel like a "prison ration". I mean you could easily interchange banana with apple, use different granola bars and cakes and so forth. I am sure this small change would go a long way for most travelers. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rezania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A group of us attended a wedding and booked two x two bedroomed units here. We were really impressed with most things, beds very comfortable, furnishings and fittings modern, and accommodating staff. Soundproof rooms which was very much appreciated.
The only 'problem' was the breakfast supplied was not really adequate for our needs. None of us do cake first thing in the morning, so appreciated the bananas and yoghurt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
959 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing