We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty, don't bother staying here!”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were looking forward to our night at Auckland City Oaks for an Anniversary treat. Our experience was very disappointing. Rooms don't look like advertised. Very dirty rooms. Stained sheets with black hairs on them. Dirty carpet with red stains on it. Didn't use the cups or cutlery as they looked unclean. Breakfast was disappointing - juice from India! and dry unpleasant cake. Did get a banana, yoghurt and muesli bar but that didn't excuse the rest. Dirty marks over the walls. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Louise
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here 2 days and were very disappointed with the room. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment- with gym and swimming pool access and 'continental' breakfast .
The good -The reception was friendly and helpful. It had 2 bedrooms
The bad- the room was dingy and dark. The main bedroom ( twin) was dark and cramped. The kitchen chairs were sticky and dirty when we arrived. The toilet seat, flush, shower soap holder were broken. No tissues were given. The dishwasher was also broken- no dish towels or dishwashing liquid were supplied. Our room must have been near a motor so when you thought you could get to sleep, a sound like a spaceship landing could be heard. Then the police car sirens would start. Oh forgot to mention , the position is near a police station and the area is quite seedy( strip club and homeless shelter nearby) . If the weather was good we could have been out a lot but it was stormy. Hoped to use the gym and pool but is was' under repair'. I needed to get out for a walk so asked if I could borrow an umbrella but 'it' was out.
The ' continental ' breakfast was really a breakfast pack- don't call it continental then.
I have stayed at other Oak apartments but it appears that each one is separately owned and upkeep and maintenance is not uniform. You have to be lucky . We will not stay at OAK apartments in the future. There needs to be better management and prompt repairs and upkeep if they want to stay in business. VERY DISAPPOINTING!!

Room Tip: My tip is 'do not stay here'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This was this first stop on out New Zeland adventure! Very comfortable room with all the amenities you could ask for. Reception very helpful at all times of the day and could not believe how local it was to the activities that we wanted to do!

My only grumbles are breakfast could have been a bit varies as not a big fan of fruit cake! Maybe a selection of cereals or toast would be easier?

Also car parking is unfairly charged to hotel guests.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Auckland City Oaks was average for a couple of days in Auckland City,
The rooms were clean but a little small & cramped,
A window between 2 bedrooms seemed unnecessary and an inconvenience the space would be better made into more storage room for the bedrooms

Room Tip: The views from any room are poor so don't worry where you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PcPete55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked for 2 nights so we could attend the Bruce Springsteen Concert. On arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor, which was greatly appreciated. The apartment was spacious, clean and had all the amenities required if staying longer. The first night, which was a Friday, we didn't sleep very well which is not unusual because we never sleep well on the first night away from home. Anyway we could hear the noise on the street from people yahooing on their way home from a night out and because the building is right next to the Auckland Police Station we heard a number of vehicles leaving with lights and sirens on. The apartment also got very warm and uncomfortable during the night, but this was rectified by putting the air con on. Breakfast in the morning, which was part of the deal average to say the least. It comprised of a piece of a muffin, apple, muesli bar, 250ml mango juice and a yoghurt. Needless to say we went out for a cooked breakfast. To be honest you'd be better off not offering continental breakfast if that is what's served every time because you'll invite negative comments. 2nd night after the concert we slept very well. The location is very convenient to the CBD. Approximately a 10 minute walk to the Viaduct and Britomart, 3 mins to Sky City, 5 mins to Queen Street shopping. Overall for the price, which was about $120 a night, we were please with our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richie_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is convenient, comfortable,and extremely affordable hotel with extras such as discounted taxi fare to airport and breakfast supplied in refrigerator the night before. Simple and highly functional

Room Tip: upper floor facing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had stayed here 3 1/2 years ago and had a big two bedroom room with a breakfast of toast & jam, cereal, milk and a large carton of good orange juice at a reasonable price. So this trip we figured we would stay there again. Our flight came in very early, so they stored our luggage and told us to come back about 1:00 p.m. to get one of their first rooms cleaned. We got a room near the lobby on the first floor. There was a lip on the floor entrance to the bathroom that I tripped over it. (We were coming through again and complained about the lip and got another room on an upper floor). We only got one bed this time for the price we paid 3 years ago. That was okay. The bed was comfortable. The shower fine. But we were very disappointed in the breakfast. We received a boxed piece of fruit cake, a granola bar, a banana, yogurt and small juice containers of sugary sweet orange drink. Thankfully, there is a kitchen, so we bought some milk and cereal. We have one more night booked and paid for but we won't be staying there anymore in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
961 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing