We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Very average. Two bed apartment had main bdrm that you could barely walk around the bed and no window. Bad location. Almost on top of police station so lots of sirens. Plus is the sky tower is very close, but the general area is very seedy. Staff were helpful but we had to park a block down the street in a not very secure public car park. At one stage we had to go get a jumper from the car and found several people leaning against it smoking & drinking. Not our idea of secure.
Breakfast as described by others - very basic and a bit strange. Very unpleasant juice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our helpful staff. I am sorry to hear your disappointment with the public parking. We recommend to pre-book a car park with us for your next visit to avoid the disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    425
    275
    90
    92
See reviews for
323
429
72
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel was booked by our travel agent so was pleasantly suppirised at the size of our room. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. The only down size for us that it is located at the top end of town and with little public transport because of the one way road system. For one in their 70s we had to catch taxis to get places. After picking up our hire car we were told tha we could park underneath the hotel for $25.00 which I feel a little steep. Continental breakfast was a little mundane and would rather had a small packet of breakfast food and not cake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denwats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Denwats
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad to hear that you had a very positive experience.
Our location has the positive attribute of being up the hill from the main CBD street making it a quieter environment, but this in turn makes it a little bit of a hill climb to get back to the hotel. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. Reception staff friendly and welcoming. Room was very spacious for the four of us, well equiped kitchen and very comfortable beds. Clean and airy. The only down-side was every time we switched on a ceiling light, an annoying fan burst into life! Bit annoying at night as took ages to switch itself off. We had a great view from the 9th floor balcony, and being right in the heart of the city it made getting into the CBD a breeze. All round good stay, would recommend and would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Valued guest
We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were looking forward to our night at Auckland City Oaks for an Anniversary treat. Our experience was very disappointing. Rooms don't look like advertised. Very dirty rooms. Stained sheets with black hairs on them. Dirty carpet with red stains on it. Didn't use the cups or cutlery as they looked unclean. Breakfast was disappointing - juice from India! and dry unpleasant cake. Did get a banana, yoghurt and muesli bar but that didn't excuse the rest. Dirty marks over the walls. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Louise
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here 2 days and were very disappointed with the room. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment- with gym and swimming pool access and 'continental' breakfast .
The good -The reception was friendly and helpful. It had 2 bedrooms
The bad- the room was dingy and dark. The main bedroom ( twin) was dark and cramped. The kitchen chairs were sticky and dirty when we arrived. The toilet seat, flush, shower soap holder were broken. No tissues were given. The dishwasher was also broken- no dish towels or dishwashing liquid were supplied. Our room must have been near a motor so when you thought you could get to sleep, a sound like a spaceship landing could be heard. Then the police car sirens would start. Oh forgot to mention , the position is near a police station and the area is quite seedy( strip club and homeless shelter nearby) . If the weather was good we could have been out a lot but it was stormy. Hoped to use the gym and pool but is was' under repair'. I needed to get out for a walk so asked if I could borrow an umbrella but 'it' was out.
The ' continental ' breakfast was really a breakfast pack- don't call it continental then.
I have stayed at other Oak apartments but it appears that each one is separately owned and upkeep and maintenance is not uniform. You have to be lucky . We will not stay at OAK apartments in the future. There needs to be better management and prompt repairs and upkeep if they want to stay in business. VERY DISAPPOINTING!!

Room Tip: My tip is 'do not stay here'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rashelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This was this first stop on out New Zeland adventure! Very comfortable room with all the amenities you could ask for. Reception very helpful at all times of the day and could not believe how local it was to the activities that we wanted to do!

My only grumbles are breakfast could have been a bit varies as not a big fan of fruit cake! Maybe a selection of cereals or toast would be easier?

Also car parking is unfairly charged to hotel guests.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Auckland City Oaks was average for a couple of days in Auckland City,
The rooms were clean but a little small & cramped,
A window between 2 bedrooms seemed unnecessary and an inconvenience the space would be better made into more storage room for the bedrooms

Room Tip: The views from any room are poor so don't worry where you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PcPete55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing